白皮书

超稳定飞秒放大器助力二维红外光谱在生物膜和表面活性剂的研究中实现高数据输出

综述

Carlos Baiz 教授实验室 (德克萨斯大学奥斯汀分校)的实验室人员正在研究亲水/疏水界面的动力学,以了解生物膜和工业表面活性剂的功能。 他们使用基于 Astrella 超快激光放大器的二维红外光谱装置,这套装置不仅操作简便,稳定性高,而且效率高,能获得大量可发布的实验数据。

Enables High Data Output in 2D IR Spectroscopic Studies of Biological Membranes and Surfactants

自然界的生物膜和工业表面活性剂

Baiz 教授解释了他的研究动机:“表面活性剂和脂质膜的传统研究针对的都是单一类型的。 传统研究结果并不完全适用于自然界的生物膜。 因为生物膜含有数百种甚至数千种不同的脂质膜。Carlos Baiz 教授实验室 (德克萨斯大学奥斯汀分校)的实验室人员正在研究亲水/疏水界面的动力学,以了解生物膜和工业表面活性剂的功能。 他们使用基于 Astrella 超快激光放大器的二维红外光谱装置,这套装置不仅操作简便,稳定性高,而且效率高,能获得大量可发布的实验数据。 使用超稳定飞秒放大器,从生物膜和表面活性剂的二维红外光谱中获取的大量数据,有助于对化学多样性的研究。 我们研究了膜异质性在控制细胞功能的蛋白质的折叠过程中所起的作用。”他补充说,类似的化学多样性也存在于用于油回收和润滑等工业表面活性剂领域。 无论这些表面活性剂是来自石化资源还是生物资源(如棕榈油),都是通过分子链长度、官能团等对它们进行表征。

“二维光谱学的原理很好理解,但实施起来往往非常复杂。”

二维红外光谱学的独特能力

二维红外光谱学是 Baiz 课题组研究中经常使用的工具之一。 二维光谱学的原理很好理解,但实施起来往往非常复杂。 在传统的(一维)红外吸收光谱中,通常使用 FTIR(傅里叶变换光谱仪)测量样品在不同频率的吸收峰。 每个吸收峰对应不同的分子振动。 在二维红外光谱中,通过两个红外源(称为泵浦光和探测光)测量样品的吸收峰。 然后将数据绘制为两个频率坐标轴的二维等高线图。 如图 1 所示,颜色强度表示信号强度。 [1]

为什么? 这种复杂的实验方法可以获得其他方法测不出来的结果? 非对角峰的存在表明这两种分子振动是耦合振动(共用一个或多个原子,或者在某种化学相互作用中紧密相连)。 例如,峰形揭示了均匀和不均匀的展宽成分,这反过来又提供了分子与周围环境相互作用的动态信息。 还可以通过建模提取其他更详细的信息。 

虽然数据是在频域中绘制的,但大多数二维光谱检测是使用超快激光脉冲在时域中实验,如图 1 所示,样品由包含所感兴趣频率的两个飞秒泵浦脉冲激发。 然后重复扫描两个泵浦脉冲之间的延迟,并对探测脉冲进行傅里叶变换到频域。 (类似于傅里叶核磁共振)。 探测脉冲也是包含所有感兴趣频率的宽带飞秒脉冲。 该脉冲穿过样品之后,将分散在单色仪上,检测它的频率。 由于光谱是使用激光脉冲进行测量的,因此可以控制泵浦和探测脉冲之间的延迟,来研究不同的影响因子,例如相干时间。

Figure 1

图 1: 经二维红外光谱测量,一对宽带中红外泵浦脉冲在样品中引起振动相干性。 短暂延迟后,施加第三个宽带脉冲以产生三阶信号。 Baiz 实验室供图。

具有多种功能的实验系统

Baiz 指出,“二维红外光谱已被充分证明是探测脂质膜中氢键动力学的优异方法。 亲水/疏水差异决定了界面性质,与主体相比,界面处的氢键更容易受到破坏。”Baiz 补充说,二维红外光谱在他的研究中的另一个优势是可以从羰基 (C=O) 伸缩振动中获得相对较强的信号。 大多数常见的脂质都有这些羰基,它们是与水形成氢键的关键因素,因此这项技术非常适用于各种脂质的研究。 [2-3]

这个二维红外光谱装置中的激光源使用的是相干公司的 Astrella ,以及光学参量放大器(配置 NDFG 功能的 TOPAS Prime)。 Astrella 一体化激光放大器,可产生 100 fs 脉冲,中心波长约为 800 nm。 OPA/NDFG对激光脉冲的波长可在整个中红外范围内进行调谐。 在 Baiz 装置中,它通常被调谐到 5.7 到 6.2 微米之间的中心波长,对应于 1750-1580 cm-1 的频率,以匹配脂质和蛋白质中的羰基伸缩振动。 100 fs 脉冲宽度提供了足够的光谱范围,可同时探测脂质酯羰基化合物和蛋白质酰胺羰基化合物。

“二维红外光谱已被充分证明是探测脂质膜中氢键动力学的优异方法。”

 

同时具备空间和时间分辨率

图 2 示意显示了 Baiz 实验室中使用的二维红外光谱装置的主要部件。 超快二维红外实验初期阶段,他们使用定制设备产生激光脉冲。 由于是在不同的光路中产生的脉冲,这对实验的光路校准工作带来了巨大的挑战。 今天,像 Baiz 这样的研究人员使用商业化的脉冲整形器(PhaseTech Spectroscopy Inc. 的 Quickshape)来生成密集的激发脉冲,并且所有脉冲都在同一个光路中产生,从而大大简化了实验。

相干公司 Astrella 信号延迟发生器(SDG Elite)的电子脉冲延迟功能,非常适用于二维红外光谱这类的实验。 在这种模式下,使用额外的紫外激光器来光触发化学反应,然后通过二维红外光谱进行跟踪。 [4] 类似于传统的“泵浦-探测”方法,可以将这种方法称为“紫外泵浦-二维红外探测”。 SDG Elite 的多个输出口用于同步不同的光学装置,如图 2 所示。

 

Figure 2

图 2: 2D 红外光谱装置主要部件示意图。 相干公司 Astrella 系统包含 Vitara 振荡器、Revolution 泵浦激光器和钛宝石放大器。 信号延迟发生器用于生成电子定时脉冲以同步该装置。 Baiz 实验室供图。

 

激光器的稳定性支持长时间的数据采集

Astrella 经过相干公司使用 HALT/HASS 测试,实现了无与伦比的稳定性和可靠性。 HALT 表示高加速寿命测试,HASS 表示高加速应力筛选。 Baiz 将 Astrella 的出色稳定性视为实验成功的关键因素。

这是因为实验中每个样品通常需要 16-24 小时的数据采集时间,并且激光输出都必须在整个实验过程中保持完全稳定。 数据采集时间长的原因是信号强度低。 他解释说:“二维红外光信号很弱,因为红外跃迁的振动强度通常远低于电子跃迁。 此外,我们使用同位素替换;将异质混合物中的某种脂质作为研究对象,我们用碳 13 标记该脂质,将其 C=O 伸缩基频率降低。 因此,如果目标脂质占总量的 5%,那就会使信号强度进一步下降。 如果我们要进行时间依赖性的研究,那么实验的持续时间会变得更长。”

 

操作便捷性大幅降低了疫情对Baiz 实验室的影响

Baiz 实验室的多名学生和博士后共同使用一套二维红外光谱装置,这使得 Astrella 的长期可靠性和操作便捷性与输出稳定性同样重要。 Baiz 解释说:“学生可以连续使用这套装置两周时间。 为了使这种安排能够顺利、公平地执行,我们需要合理安排它的使用需求。 借助 Astrella,我们实现了这一目标。 实际上,我们发现激光器可以实现每周 7 天,每天 24 小时全天候连续运行,不用担心它会出现意外故障。 我们还签订了满意的服务合同,虽然激光出现问题的概率很低,但只要遇到任何激光问题时,我们都可以立即得到支持。”Baiz 说,Astrella 的易用性让他的学生能够把所有精力都集中在他们的实验上,根本不需要担心激光器。 在 2020 年疫情期间,这对于确保实验室工作效率尤为重要。 他指出:“学校限制每次只能一个人来做实验。 因此,对于超快激光放大器没有多少使用经验的低年级学生来说,必须在没有直接帮助或监督的情况下独立工作。 然而,这种人员限制并没有降低我们实验室的工作效率,仅在 2020 年,我们就提交了 10 篇论文。”

 

通过二维红外光谱获得的研究成果

图 3 显示了二维红外光谱获得的一些令人兴奋的结果,图中显示了脂质膜中嵌入的蛋白质的模拟过程。 传统观点认为疏水内部结构通常会将水排除在外。 但来自同位素标记的二维红外光谱实验的数据表明,膜核心内有显著的水渗透。 这张照片来自膜中两亲性多肽的分子动力学 (MD) 模拟。 我们注意到,即使在疏水(酰基链)区域约 1 nm 的深度,水分子也可以与主链形成氢键。 直观起见,将周围的脂质显示为半透明,仅显示多肽周围的水分子。 脂质头基的平均位置以虚线表示。

“学校限制每次只能一个人来做实验。 因此,对于超快激光放大器没有多少使用经验的低年级学生来说,必须在没有直接帮助或监督的情况下独立工作。”

图 3: 疏水膜环境中的水渗透。
Baiz 实验室供图。

总结

二维红外光谱是一种研究化学单键的强大技术。 得益于一体化全自动超快激光器的发展,现在它具有与 FTIR 等常规成熟方法同等的操作便捷性和可靠性。

参考文献

[1] Flanagan, Jennifer C., Mason L. Valentine, and Carlos R. Baiz. “Ultrafast Dynamics at Lipid–Water Interfaces.” Accounts of chemical research 53.9 (2020): 1860-1868.
[2] Flanagan, Jennifer C., Alfredo E. Cardenas, and Carlos R. Baiz. “Ultrafast Spectroscopy of Lipid–Water Interfaces: Transmembrane Crowding Drives H-Bond Dynamics.” The journal of physical chemistry letters 11.10 (2020): 4093-4098.
[3] Flanagan, Jennifer C., and Carlos R. Baiz. “Site-specific peptide probes detect buried water in a lipid membrane.” Biophysical journal 116.9 (2019): 1692-1700.
[4] Flanagan, Jennifer C., and Carlos R. Baiz.

安排免费咨询以讨论您的需求。

WHITE PAPER

Ultra-Stable Femtosecond Amplifier Enables High Data Output in 2D IR Spectroscopic Studies of Biological Membranes and Surfactants

Overview

Researchers in the laboratory of Prof. Carlos Baiz (University of Texas, Austin) are investigating the dynamics of hydrophilic/ hydrophobic interfaces to understand the detailed function of both biological membranes and industrial surfactants. They make extensive use of a two-dimensional infrared spectroscopy set-up based on an Astrella ultrafast laser amplifier, where the combination of output stability and operational simplicity has enabled high lab throughput as measured by publishable data

High Data Output in 2D IR Spectroscopic Studies

Real-world membranes and industrial surfactants

Professor Baiz explains the motivation of his research, “Traditional research in both surfactants and lipid membranes has targeted simple model systems where a single type of lipid or surfactant species is involved. While this has provided important information, this understanding is not always reflective of real-world systems. For example, biological membranes contain hundreds or even thousands of different lipids. Now we know that biology naturally tends Overview Researchers in the laboratory of Prof. Carlos Baiz (University of Texas, Austin) are investigating the dynamics of hydrophilic/hydrophobic interfaces to understand the detailed function of both biological membranes and industrial surfactants. They make extensive use of a two-dimensional infrared spectroscopy set-up based on an Astrella ultrafast laser amplifier, where the combination of output stability and operational simplicity has enabled high lab throughput as measured by publishable data. Ultra-Stable Femtosecond Amplifier Enables High Data Output in 2D IR Spectroscopic Studies of Biological Membranes and Surfactants to efficiency, so this unexpected chemical diversity undoubtedly serves an important purpose. In our research, we examine the role of membrane heterogeneity on the folding of certain proteins that control cellular function.” He adds that similar chemical diversity is also found in the world of industrial surfactants that are used for applications like oil recovery and lubrication. Whether these are derived from petrochemical sources or biological sources like palm oil, the molecules are characterized by many differences in terms of chain lengths, functional groups, branching and so forth.

"The principles of 2D spectroscopy are well understood, but the implementation has often been quite complex."

The unique power of 2D IR spectroscopy

2D IR spectroscopy is one of several powerful tools the Baiz group use in their research. The principles of 2D spectroscopy are well understood, but the implementation has often been quite complex. In a conventional (one-dimensional) infrared absorption measurement, the amount of absorption is measured as a function of a single parameter, the infrared frequency, usually employing a FTIR (Fourier Transform) spectrometer. Each absorption peak corresponds to a different molecular vibration. In 2D IR, the absorption is effectively measured as a result of two infrared sources – called the pump and probe. The data is then typically plotted as a 2D contour map in the two frequencies, where the diagonal plot is just the linear spectrum. As shown in Figure 1, false color is used to represent signal intensity in these data plots. [1]

Why? What does this rather complex experimental approach deliver that you can’t get easily by other means? The presence of off-diagonal peaks tells you that those two vibrations are coupled – either sharing one or more atoms, or closely connected in some type of chemical interaction. For example, the shape of the peaks reveals the homogeneous and inhomogeneous broadening components and this—in turn—provides dynamic information on the interaction of molecules with their nearby environment. Other more subtle information can also be extracted from the data set through analysis and modeling. 

While the data is plotted in the frequency domain, today most 2D spectroscopy is performed in the time domain using ultrafast laser pulses, as shown schematically in Figure 1. The sample is excited by two broadband femtosecond pump pulses containing all the frequencies of interest. The delay between the two pump pulses is then repeatedly scanned and the resulting impact on the probe pulse is Fourier-transformed to the frequency domain. (It’s a conceptually similar to the way FT-NMR is performed). The probe pulse is also a broadband femtosecond pulse containing all the frequencies of interest. After this passes through the sample it is then dispersed on a monochromator to directly obtain the probe frequency axis. Since spectra are recorded using laser pulses, the delay between the pump and probe can also be controlled to show the temporal behavior, e.g., coherence time, of all these effects.

Figure 1

Figure 1: In 2D IR spectroscopy, a pair of broadband mid-infrared pump pulses cause a vibrational coherence in the sample. After a brief delay, a third broadband pulse is applied to generate the measured third-order signal. Figure courtesy the Baiz lab.

A robust experimental system with multiple capabilities

Baiz notes, “2D IR is well-proven to be an excellent method to probe the dynamics of hydrogen bonding in lipid membranes. The hydrophilic/hydrophobic difference is what defines the interface, and hydrogen bond dynamics are highly disrupted at the interface compared to the bulk.” Baiz adds that another advantage of 2D IR for his studies is the relatively strong signal that can be obtained from carbonyl (C=O) stretching vibrations. The majority of common lipids have these carbonyl groups which are key participants in the hydrogen bonding with water, so it really is a great match for his work targeting lipids in various heterogeneous ensembles. [2-3]

The laser source in the 2D IR setup is a Coherent Astrella in conjunction with a tunable optical parametric amplifier (Coherent TOPAS Prime with NDFG). The Astrella is a unique one-box amplifier generating 100 fs pulses at a center wavelength around 800 nm. The OPA/NDFG setup produces pulses tunable across the entire mid-infrared. It is usually tuned to a center wavelength between 5.7 and 6.2 microns in the Baiz setup, which corresponds to a frequency of 1750-1580 cm-1 in order to match the carbonyl stretching vibrations in lipids and proteins. The 100 fs pulse width provides sufficient spectral coverage to probe lipid ester carbonyls and protein amide carbonyls during the same measurements.

"2D IR is well-proven to be an excellent method to probe the dynamics of hydrogen bonding in lipid membranes."

 

Thermometry with Simultaneous Space and Time Resolution

Figure 2 schematically shows the main elements of the 2D IR setup used in the Baiz lab. In the early days of ultrafast 2D IR experiments, the separate pulses were generated using custom-built equipment. They were created on different beam paths leading to a significant alignment challenge to overlap all the beams at the sample with interferometric quality. Today researchers like Baiz use a commercial pulse shaper (the Quickshape from PhaseTech Spectroscopy Inc.) to generate the closely spaced excitation pulses and all the pulses are produced on a single collinear beam path, greatly simplifying the experiments.

The advanced electronic pulse delay capabilities of the Coherent Astrella signal-delay-generator (SDG Elite) is useful for some of the more advanced experiments, such as transient-2D IR spectroscopy. In this mode, an additional UV laser is used to phototrigger chemical reactions which are then tracked via 2D IR. [4] Analogous to traditional “pump-probe” methods, this implementation can be thought of as “UV-pump-2D IR probe”. The multiple outputs of the SDG Elite are used to synchronize the different components of the optical setup as shown in Figure 2.

 

Main Elements of the 2D IR Setup

Figure 2: Schematic illustration showing the main elements of the 2D IR setup. The Coherent Astrella system includes the Vitara oscillator, Revolution pump laser, and the main Ti:Sapphire amplifier. The Signal-delay-generator is used to generate the electronic timing pulses to synchronize the setup. Figure courtesy the Baiz lab.

 

Laser stability enables long data acquisition times

The Astrella is designed and manufactured at Coherent using HALT/HASS protocols that have resulted in unmatched laser stability and reliability. HALT stands for Highly Accelerated Life Testing and HASS stands for Highly Accelerated Stress Screening. Baiz cites Astrella’s outstanding stability as a critical enabling factor in his studies.

That’s because many of the 2D IR experiments performed in the Baiz group often require data acquisition times of 16-24 hours per sample and every aspect of the laser output must remain completely stable during this entire time. The reason for the long data times is the small signal strength. He explains, “2D IR signals are weak since the oscillator strengths of IR transitions are typically much lower than electronic transitions. In addition, we use isotopic substitution; in order to target one lipid species in a heterogeneous mixture, we label that lipid with carbon-13 to shift its C=O stretch to a lower frequency. So if our target lipid represents say 5% of the total, that’s a further drop in signal strength. Then if we want to do time dependent studies, well the experiment gets even longer.”

 

Operational simplicity minimized pandemic impact in Baiz lab

The 2D IR setup is used as a shared resource by multiple students and post-docs in the Baiz lab, which makes the long term reliability and simple operation of Astrella just as important as output stability. Baiz explains, “Students get allocated exclusive use in time blocks of typically two weeks duration. For this scheduling to work smoothly and fairly, we need dependable on-demand performance. We get that with Astrella. In fact, we’ve found the best solution is to just leave the laser running continuously 24/7 and essentially forget about it. I also want to add that we also have a great service contract which gets us back up almost immediately on the rare occasions we do have any laser issue.” Baiz says that ease of operation of Astrella – “It’s really just a light source” – has always enabled his students to focus all their energies on their experients, and never on the laser. But this was particularly important for lab productivity during the 2020 pandemic restrictions due to Covid. He notes, “University restrictions meant that only one person at a time could work in our lab. So junior students with minimal existing experience using an ultrafast laser amplifier had to work with no direct help or supervision. Yet this staffing limitation had no drop-off in our lab productivity at all, with 10 papers submitted in 2020 alone.”

 

Unique information derived from these 2D IR studies

An example of some of the exciting new science revealed by 2D IR spectroscopy is illustrated in Figure 3 which shows the simulated details of a protein embedded in a lipid membrane. The traditional view was that water is generally excluded from the hydrophobic interior. But data from isotope-labeled 2D IR experiments have shown significant water penetration within the membrane core. This snapshot is from a molecular dynamics (MD) simulation of an amphiphilic peptide in a membrane based on this data. Note that even at depths of ~1 nm into the hydrophobic (acyl chain) region, water molecules can H-bond with the backbone. For visual simplicity, the surrounding lipids are shown here as semitransparent sticks and only water molecules surrounding the peptide are shown. The average lipid headgroup positions are indicated as dashed lines.

"University restrictions meant that only one person at a time could work in our lab. So junior students with minimal existing experience using an ultrafast laser amplifier had to work with no direct help or supervision."

New Science Revealed by 2D IR Spectroscopy

Figure 3: Water penetration into hydrophobic membrane environments.
Figure courtesy Baiz lab.

Summary

2D IR spectroscopy is a powerful technique for interrogating chemistry at the single-bond level. Advances in technical simplicity and system reliability, particularly in turnkey ultrafast laser amplifiers, now mean that research labs can use this as an on-demand analysis method, with the same accessibility and dependability as well-established routine methods like FTIR.

References

[1] Flanagan, Jennifer C., Mason L. Valentine, and Carlos R. Baiz. “Ultrafast Dynamics at Lipid–Water Interfaces.” Accounts of chemical research 53.9 (2020): 1860-1868.
[2] Flanagan, Jennifer C., Alfredo E. Cardenas, and Carlos R. Baiz. “Ultrafast Spectroscopy of Lipid–Water Interfaces: Transmembrane Crowding Drives H-Bond Dynamics.” The journal of physical chemistry letters 11.10 (2020): 4093-4098.
[3] Flanagan, Jennifer C., and Carlos R. Baiz. “Site-specific peptide probes detect buried water in a lipid membrane.” Biophysical journal 116.9 (2019): 1692-1700.
[4] Flanagan, Jennifer C., and Carlos R. Baiz.

Schedule a no-cost consultation to discuss your needs.