白皮书

无需后处理的不锈钢医疗器械永久性打标

综述

经过优化的皮秒激光系统为不锈钢器械的永久性唯一设备标识符 (UDI) 打标提供了一个成套式解决方案。 此系统可以制作具有极高对比度的无污染亚表面标记,并且没有传统热激光打标所引起的腐蚀/钝化和褪色问题。

强制性 UDI 打标

目前在医疗器械行业中,在产品上制作永久性识别标记的需求越来越大。 打标有很多好处,包括防伪、产品可追溯性、长期质量控制、防止退货欺诈和分销监管。 更重要的是,美国和欧盟市场对医疗器械打标的强制性要求越来越严格。 例如,在美国,“对于要求标有 UDI 的 II 类器械,如果打算使用一次以上并按照 801.45 条规定进行再处理,则必须在该器械本体上打上 UDI 作为永久性标记”。因此,该法规涵盖一次性使用和多次使用的不锈钢工具和器械,其中再处理一词通常指高压灭菌。

常用于医疗器械的不锈钢合金包括 1.4021、1.4301 和 1.4305。 这些钢有天然的氧化铬钝化外表面,可以防止在反复高压灭菌过程中受到腐蚀。 在器械制造过程中,这种钝化层可能会因加工、研磨、抛光或其他工艺而受到破坏。 然后就要用柠檬酸或甚至硝酸溶液对最终产品进行重新钝化,从而去除外表面层上可能引起腐蚀的(非氧化)铁颗粒。

对于用这些硬钢制造的医疗器械,所面临的挑战是找到一种工艺,能够制作出满足以下几个关键标准的标记: 首先,标记必须具有高对比度,以便通过一系列不同的手段来辨别。 第二,标记必须是永久性的,这里的永久性指的是标记必须不会因为经常触摸和使用而褪色,也不会因为随后的任何重新钝化和反复高压灭菌而褪色。 此外,标记应为亚表面标记,没有可能藏匿污染或在使用过程中引起刺激/发炎的表面起伏。 另外,该标记应适用于波状外形的表面。 此外,打标工艺本身不应产生额外的钝化需求。 最后,整个工艺应该实现自动化并具有成本效益。 在这份白皮书中,我们介绍了基于皮秒激光器的一种工艺和一系列功能齐全的打标工具,最终满足了每一项关键标准。

“钝化通常又会使这类标记褪色。”

 

传统激光打标的局限性

激光打标并不是一个新想法 – 事实上,这种工艺从几十年前就开始用于生产各种类型的标记,现在这种工艺已经在许多行业中得到了应用。 二氧化碳 (CO2) 激光器固态纳秒(称为 DPSS)激光器连续波光纤激光器都一直用于此用途,具体使用哪种激光器取决于所涉及的特定材料。 这些不同的激光打标应用涉及到在材料内部产生变化、在表面产生颜色变化,或者在表面起伏(如内雕)或纹理上产生容易看到的宏观变化。 其中一些工艺广泛用于医疗市场的其他领域,如制药。 对于不锈钢医疗器械来说,问题在于这些现有的激光工艺都是通过光热工艺制作标记。 简而言之,一束紧聚焦激光以高度局域化的方式提供强热,提高材料温度,以产生某种类型的变化。 例如,CO2 激光器实际上是通过熔化和蒸发材料来产生表面起伏,对各种基材进行打标。

这些激光器中,有些已得到研究,用于不锈钢医疗器械的“永久”打标,并取得了不同程度的成功。 到目前为止,最好的成果是使用光纤激光器或 DPSS 纳秒激光器的近红外输出来制作黑色标记。 这些标记通常可以表现出较高的对比度。 然而,黑色外观主要是由于外层氧化物形成而产生的 – 激光脉冲以累积方式加热金属,使其与环境空气中的氧气发生反应。 这种氧化损害了表面的耐腐蚀性,所以进行此类打标之后,就必须进行重新钝化。 然而,钝化通常又会使此类标记褪色。 而对于多次使用的产品,这种工艺的主要局限是这些氧化痕迹也会随着反复的高压灭菌而褪色。 对比度最终会低于某些自动读取器的阈值。

 

Figure 1

图 1:在金属上制作小型二维条码标记的示例,如在汽车工业中使用的标记。

 

皮秒激光打标

皮秒激光器的特点是其脉冲时间特别短: 一皮秒是 10-12 秒。 这个特点有两个影响。 首先,脉冲持续时间通常短于热量流出激光作用区的时间,即使在金属中也是如此。因此与纳秒激光器相比,其外围热效应大大降低。 使用皮秒激光器,总激光功率中极大一部分用于去除材料,而不是产生不必要的加热。 其次,由于脉冲宽度仅相当于纳秒激光器的千分之一,皮秒激光器的峰值功率与平均功率比较之纳米激光器高出约一千倍。

这种高峰值功率使激光和基底之间产生独特的相互作用,包括多光子吸收。在此过程中,材料在一个相对温度较低的过程中直接雾化,而不是通过沸腾被加热到气化。 因此,汽车行业使用皮秒激光器直接用二维条码标记金属部件(见图 1),在这种情况下,关键在于条形码不能在使用过程中褪色。 类似的方法在平板电脑和其他小型手持电子设备的铝制外壳上产生了出色的效果。 最近,皮秒激光器被用于在蓝宝石晶圆上打标,用于生产高亮度的 LED。众所周知,蓝宝石晶圆这种材料硬度极大,在上面打标是非常困难的。

鉴于使用长脉冲激光器在不锈钢医疗器械上打标的种种局限,激光工具制造商和医疗器械行业中一些较早采用激光打标技术的企业最近都在研究使用皮秒激光器来实现这一目的。

在相干公司,我们一直在努力研究利用我们的 Rapid NX 皮秒激光器对不锈钢打标进行优化。 这种激光器的平均功率为 7 瓦,脉冲宽度 <15 皮秒,最高脉冲重复频率为 1 MHz。 图 2 显示了用这种激光在 1.4301 钢上制作的典型标记。 乍一看,这些标记似乎与使用纳秒激光器产生的黑色标记相似。 然而,它们的实际结构差异很大。 使用纳秒激光器时,钢材上激光印记的黑色外观主要来自于表面层和亚表面层的成分变化,即产生黑色氧化物材料。 而使用皮秒激光打标技术时,产生高对比度黑色外观的主要原因似乎是亚表面纳米结构的变化,这种变化产生了高效的光捕获和光吸收,同时又不会显著改变材料成分。

 

“与纳秒激光器相比,外围热效应大大较低。”

图 1:使用相干公司 Rapid NX 皮秒激光器在 1.4301 钢上制作黑色标记的一些示例。

 

抑制反射的微结构化表面并不是全新事物。 许多昆虫在更小尺度上利用这种结构来捕获可见光,这就催生了一直通常称为“蛾眼”的产品。我们目前正在请一家学术机构对皮秒激光产生的纳米结构进行彻底的第三方研究,因为通过更详细的了解这种结构,我们可能会进一步改进打标技术。

比标记的本质更重要的是,使用皮秒激光器与纳秒激光器制作的黑色标记在性能上有显著差异。 首先,我们的测试表明,在反复高压灭菌过程中,这些标记具有天然的抗腐蚀(生锈)能力,不需要为防腐蚀进行任何重新钝化。 其次,钝化和高压灭菌都不会导致这些标记明显褪色。 这延长了可重复使用器械的使用寿命,降低了拥有成本。 它还简化了医疗器械的制造并降低了总体成本,因为它对打标和钝化流程的时间和顺序没有限制。 最重要的是,这些皮秒激光标记比纳秒激光标记更持久,使用起来受到的限制更少。

 

Figure 3

图 3:PowerLine Rapid NX 是新一代皮秒激光打标子系统,非常适合不锈钢器械打标。

 

激光器的发展

在过去,其他应用中的皮秒标记常常统称为“高价值”标记,因为现有的皮秒激光器和工具的成本高,结构复杂,这意味着只有高价值产品才能用上这种标记。 如今这种情况已经有所改变。随着各个行业对皮秒激光打标的兴趣日益浓厚,激光器制造商也做出了回应:他们使用先进的材料和方法开发了新一代产品,而且这些产品的价格比以前低。 Rapid NX 是这种转变的一个突出的例子 – 见图 3。这款激光器的资金成本较低,使用了高可靠性部件(如相干公司的先进长寿命的泵浦二极管),并且采用了模块化结构,便于现场维修,进一步降低了运行成本。 皮秒激光器的加工速度快,因此也降低了打标成本;每个脉冲都会引起物质转换,从而直接影响标记对比度。 在使用纳秒级激光器时,需要通过几个脉冲建立起热效应。

此外,Rapid NX 也是世界上第一台采用成熟 HALT/HASS 设计、工程和质量控制方法,从头开始开发的工业皮秒激光器。 HALT 是 Highly Accelerated Life Testing(高加速寿命试验)的缩写,在许多行业中用于发现和消除产品设计中的固有缺陷。 HASS 是 Highly Accelerated Stress Screening(高加速应力筛选)的缩写,用于在发货前全面测试产品,以便发现由于装配、工艺等方面的问题导致的任何缺陷。 HALT/HASS 远远超出了典型的“快速”测试,相干公司很自豪能够成为第一家投资建设专用现场 HALT/HASS 测试设备的激光器制造商。

 

Figure 4

图 4:ExactMark 230 USP 是一个完全集成的激光黑色打标系统,包括自动零件处理。

 

成套式优化解决方案

激光打标和许多其他应用中的另一个趋势是,客户对集成度的要求越来越高。 如今,设备制造商通常不会仅仅是指定一台激光器,而是指定一套激光打标子系统,包括激光器、光束传输光学器件、扫描光学器件和系统计算机。 此外,随着对波状表面打标的需求不断增加,这一系统通常包括光学器件、自动对焦传感器和软件,以适应这一需求。 另外,越来越多的设备制造商购买完整的打标工作站,其中包括零件处理和定位设备,以实现全流程自动化。 最后,对工作站和实现特定效果的工艺”配方“的需求虽小,但是增长迅速。在这种情况下,客户指定效果并以预定的产量购买。

相干公司能够在所有这些不同级别的整合中提供卓越产品。 例如,新的 ExactMark 230 USP 结合了业界认可的 ExactSeries 工作站平台(已在许多不同的应用中得到验证)和先进的相干公司 PowerLine Rapid NX 皮秒激光子系统。

总结

总之,不锈钢医疗零件打标是当今最具挑战性的打标应用之一,因为它对标记的确切性质和避免材料性质变化(即耐腐蚀性)都有严格的要求。 皮秒激光器已经在多种其他要求严苛的打标应用中得到了验证,可以随时为医疗打标提供上佳解决方案,而且其可靠性、性能和易用性持续改进,有望在经济性方面更具吸引力。

WHITE PAPER

Permanent Marking of Stainless Steel Medical Devices Without Post-Processing

Overview

An optimized picosecond laser system provides a turnkey solution for permanent, unique device identifier (UDI) marking of stainless steel devices. It delivers a contamination-free, sub-surface mark with very high contrast and does not have the corrosion/passivation and fading problems associated with conventional thermal laser marking.

Mandatory UDI Marking

The medical device industry faces an increasing need to create permanent identifying marks on its products. The benefits of marking encompass counterfeit prevention, product traceability, long-term quality control, return fraud prevention, and distribution regulation. More importantly, medical device marking is becoming increasingly mandatory for both the U.S. and EU markets. For example, in the US, “A class II device that is required to be labeled with a UDI must bear a UDI as a permanent marking on the device itself if the device is a device intended to be used more than once and intended to be reprocessed as required by § 801.45.” This regulation thus encompasses one-time and multi-use stainless steel tools and devices where the term reprocessing typically refers to autoclaving.

Commonly used stainless steel alloys for medical devices include 1.4021, 1.4301 and 1.4305. These steels have a natural passivation outer surface of chromium oxide which prevents corrosion during repeated autoclaving. This passivation can be compromised by machining, grinding, polishing or other processes during device fabrication. The final product is then re-passivated with a citric or even nitric acid solution which removes the culprit (non-oxidized) iron particles from the outer surface layer.

For medical devices made from these hard steels, the challenge is to find a process that creates a mark satisfying several key criteria: First, it must have high contrast so that it can be discerned by a range of different means. Second, it must be permanent, which in this case means that it must not fade due to regular handling and use, or due to any subsequent re-passivation and repeated autoclaving. In addition, the mark should be sub-surface, having no surface relief that could harbor contamination or cause irritation/inflammation during use. Plus, the mark should be applicable to contoured surfaces. Furthermore, the marking process in itself should not create the need for additional passivation. And lastly, the entire process should be automated and cost-effective. In this whitepaper we present a process and a range of fully featured marking tools based on picosecond lasers that finally meet every single one of these key criteria.

"The passivation in turn typically causes this type of mark to fade."

 

Limitations of Traditional Laser Marking

Laser marking is not a new idea – it has been used to produce various types of marks for literally decades now in numerous industries. Carbon dioxide (CO2) lasers, solid-state nanosecond (called DPSS) lasers, and continuous-wave fiber lasers all continue to be used for this purpose, depending on the particular material involved. These diverse laser marking applications involve either producing a change inside the bulk of the material, a color change on a surface, or a macroscopic change in surface relief (e.g., engraving) or texture that is easily visible. Some of these processes are widely used in other sectors of the medical market, such as pharmaceuticals. For stainless steel medical devices, the problem is that these established laser processes all create marks via a photothermal process. In short, a tightly focused laser beam delivers intense heat in a highly localized manner, raising the material temperature to produce some type of change. For example, a CO2 laser marks various substrates by actually melting and boiling off material to create surface relief.

Some of these lasers have already been investigated for “permanent” marking of stainless medical devices with varying degrees of success. To date, the best results had been delivered using near infrared output from fiber lasers or DPSS nanosecond lasers to produce black marks. These marks generally exhibit high contrast. However, the black appearance is due primarily to the creation of an outer layer of oxide – the laser pulses cumulatively heat the metal to the point at which it reacts with oxygen in the ambient air. This oxidation compromises the corrosion resistance of the surface, so re-passivation is unavoidable after this type of marking. However, the passivation in turn typically causes this type of mark to fade. And for multi-use products, the main limitation is that these oxide marks also fade with repeated autoclaving. The contrast eventually passes below threshold for certain automated readers.

 

Figure 1

Figure 1: An example of a small two-dimensional bar code mark produced on metal, such as is used in the automotive industry. 

 

Picosecond Laser Marking

Picosecond lasers are characterized by their exceptionally short pulse duration: a picosecond is 10-12 seconds. There are two consequences of this. First, the pulse duration is typically shorter than the time for heat to flow out of the laser interaction zone, even in metals, so peripheral thermal effects are vastly reduced compared to nanosecond lasers. With picosecond lasers, a much higher portion of the total laser power is used to remove material, rather than produce unwanted heating. Second, because the pulsewidth is a thousand times shorter than a nanosecond laser, the peak power to average power ratio is around a thousand times higher with a picosecond laser.

This high peak power enables unique interactions between the laser and the substrate, including multi-photon absorption, where material is directly atomized in a relatively cold process, rather than heated to vaporization via boiling. In the automotive industry, this has led to the use of picosecond lasers to directly mark metal parts with 2D barcodes (see figure 1) where it is essential that the barcode does not fade with usage. Similar methodology produces outstanding results on aluminum cases for tablet computers and other compact hand-held electronic devices. And recently picosecond lasers have been employed in the marking of sapphire wafers – a notoriously hard material to mark – for use in the production of high brightness LEDs.

Given the limitations of marking stainless steel medical devices with longer pulse lasers, both laser tools builders and some early adopters in the medical device industry have recently investigated using picosecond lasers for this purpose.

At Coherent, we have been working intensively on the optimization of stainless steel marking with our Rapid NX picosecond laser. This laser features an average power of 7 watts, a pulsewidth of <15 picoseconds, and a maximum pulse repetition rate of 1 MHz. Figure 2 shows typical marks created on 1.4301 steel with this laser. At first glance, these marks appear similar to the black marks produced using nanosecond lasers. However, their actual structure is quite different. With nanosecond lasers, the black appearance of laser marks on steel primarily arises from a compositional change in the surface and sub-surface layers, namely the creation of a black oxide material. With picosecond laser marking, a major contributor to the high-contrast black appearance seems to be a sub-surface nanostructural change that results in efficient light trapping and light absorption, without significant change in the material composition.

 

"Peripheral thermal effects are vastly reduced compared to nanosecond lasers."

Figure 1: Some examples of black marks created on 1.4301 steel using a Coherent Rapid NX picosecond laser. 

 

Microstructured surfaces that suppress reflections are not entirely new. For many years, the military has used microstructuring of metal surfaces to trap RF and thereby provide stealth (radar evading) capabilities to aircraft. And many insects use this on the smaller scale to trap visible light, which is why the results in military products are often called “moth eye.” We are currently having an academic facility conduct a thorough third-party investigation of the nanostructuring produced by the picosecond laser, as a more detailed understanding may lead to further marking improvements.

More important than the nature of the marks, there is a significant difference in performance for the black marks produced using a picosecond laser versus a nanosecond laser. First, our tests show that the marks are naturally resistant to corrosion (rusting) during repeated autoclaving and do not require any re-passivation for this purpose. And second, neither passivation nor autoclaving cause any appreciable fading of these marks. This extends the lifetime of re-usable devices, lowering the cost of ownership. It also simplifies and lowers the overall cost of medical device fabrication as it puts no restriction on the order of when, and in what order, the marking and passivation processes are performed. The bottom line is that these picosecond laser marks are more permanent and less restrictive to use than nanosecond laser marks.

 

Figure 3

Figure 3: The PowerLine Rapid NX is a next generation picosecond laser marker that is ideally suited to marking stainless steel devices. 

 

Laser Advances

In the past, picosecond marks in other applications have often been collectively referred to as “high value” marks, because the cost and complexity of the available picosecond lasers and tools meant that only high value products could justify their usage. This situation has changed as laser manufacturers have responded to the growing interest in picosecond laser marking by developing a new generation of products using advanced materials and methods, at a lower price point than was formerly available. The Rapid NX is a standout example of this shift – see figure 3. This laser has a lower capital cost, uses high-reliability components (such as the Coherent state-of-the-art, long lifetime pump diodes), and a modular construction that enables easy field service to further reduce the cost of operation. Marking costs are also helped with picosecond lasers by process speed; every pulse causes material transformation and thus contributes directly to the mark contrast. With nanosecond lasers there is a need to build up the thermal effect over several pulses.

Furthermore, Rapid NX is also the world’s first industrial picosecond laser developed from the ground up using proven HALT/HASS design, engineering and QC practices. HALT stands for Highly Accelerated Life Testing and is used in many industries to identify and eliminate inherent weaknesses in a product’s design. HASS stands for Highly Accelerated Stress Screening which is used to comprehensively test products before shipping and find any weaknesses due to assembly, workmanship and so on. HALT/HASS goes far beyond typical “shake and bake” testing, and Coherent is proud to be the first laser manufacturer to invest in dedicated, on-site HALT/HASS testing equipment.

 

Figure 4

Figure 4: The ExactMark 230 USP is a completely integrated system for laser black marking including automated part handling.

 

Turnkey Optimized Solutions

Another trend in laser marking and many other applications is that customers are increasingly requesting higher levels of integration. Instead of just a laser, today it is common for device manufacturers to specify a laser marking sub-system, including the laser, beam delivery optics, scanning optics, and a system computer. In addition, with the growing demand to mark contoured surfaces, this system often includes optics, autofocus sensors, and software to accommodate that. Alternatively, we are seeing more device manufacturers purchasing a complete marking workstation, which includes parts handling and positioning equipment for total process automation. And lastly, there is a small but fast-growing demand for both a workstation together with the process “recipe” to achieve a specific result, where the customer specifies and purchases the results at a pre-determined throughput.

Coherent is unmatched in the ability to offer superior products at all these different levels of integration. For example, the new ExactMark 230 USP combines the industry-leading ExactSeries workstation platform, already proven in many different applications, together with a state of the art Coherent PowerLine Rapid NX picosecond laser sub-system.

Summary

In conclusion, marking of stainless steel medical parts represents one of the most challenging marking applications today because it combines strict requirements for the exact nature of the mark and avoidance of material property change (i.e., corrosion resistance). Picosecond lasers, which have already proven themselves in a variety of other demanding marking applications, appear poised to deliver the best solution for medical marking, and continued improvements in their reliability, performance and ease of use promise to make them more economically attractive as well