白皮书

助力电动汽车: 使用可调环模
光纤激光器进行铜焊接

综述

虽然光纤激光器是焊接的主要激光源,但它们的红外输出会被某些金属(尤其是铜)高度反射,这限制了它们对这些材料的有效性。 因此,高功率固态绿光激光器已成为铜焊接的一种可能替代方案,因为这些波长更容易被该金属吸收。 但是,这些绿光激光器具有多种实际限制,最终导致了更高的拥有成本。 本文介绍了最近使用具有高亮度中心光束的新型可调环模 (ARM) 光纤激光器成功执行的铜焊接测试的结果。 与市售 kW 级绿光激光器相比,高亮度 ARM 激光器在这些测试中实现了出色的焊接质量,并在各种焊接速度下具有更好的渗透效果。 这些结果表明,这项技术可以为要求严苛的铜焊接任务带来光纤激光器的所有成本、可靠性和实用优势。

电动汽车制造

电动汽车制造业的蓬勃发展是推动铜焊接解决方案需求显着增长的主要因素。 与其他金属相比,铜具有许多理想的电气、热、机械和成本特性,这就是它在电动汽车中广泛使用的原因(用于电机本身的定子、电池、以及配电系统即汇流排等)。 而且,其中许多部件和系统的制造都涉及铜焊接。

不过,虽然高导电性和导热性特性可以让铜成为这些应用的理想选择,但同样会给使用传统光纤激光器进行焊接带来挑战。 具体来说,它的电子特性使其在光纤激光器的近红外波长时具有高反射性。 此外,它具有出色的导热性,因此需要输入大量激光能量才能熔化材料并开始焊接过程。

因此,在使用传统光纤激光器时,通常需要非常高的功率才能达到开始熔化材料所需的功率密度。 但是,这种“蛮力”方法会使焊接过程变得不稳定,并且对工作表面的微小变化极为敏感。 特别是,存在的局部表面氧化或小规模表面结构不均匀性会导致过程不稳定。 最终可能会得到不一致的焊缝、很差的表面质量和孔隙度。

 

固态绿光激光器

铜的绿光吸收率比近红外光吸收率高出近一个数量级。 来自绿光激光器的能量可以更有效地耦合到工件中,从而实现比传统光纤激光器更稳定且更不敏感的过程。 因此,一些制造商正在使用高功率固态绿光激光器,而更多制造商正在对其进行评估。

不过,在电动汽车制造中部署高功率绿光激光器存在一些重大的实际问题。 一些问题源于这些绿光激光器本身的固有特性和结构。

用于固态绿光纤维或盘形激光器的激光材料可产生近红外光;使用倍频功能将红外光转换为绿光输出。 虽然该工艺在低功率(亚 kW 级)应用中广泛采用并取得了巨大成功,但在大多数工业铜焊接任务所需的数 kW 功率水平上,它开始遇到一些困难。 具体来说,变频过程本身的效率只有 50% 左右。 因此,需要 4 kW 单模红外激光器才能产生 2 kW 的绿光输出功率。 未转换的能量将变为热量,必须通过水冷散热器排除。 这使得这些激光器的能源效率低下(更高的电力消耗导致更高的运行成本),并且需要大量的冷却水。 此外,由于使用高功率,倍频晶体会在经过一段时间后发生退化,如果不仔细管理,可能会产生可靠性和停机问题。 一些设计利用复杂的光束偏移器和晶体温度稳定器对此进行补偿。 

“…需要 4 kW 单模红外激光器才能产生 2 kW 的绿光输出功率。”

绿光激光器的另一个实际问题是用于光束传输的标准光纤更容易因绿光而变暗,从而缩短其有效使用寿命。 用于绿光的专用光纤可以克服这个问题,但价格更高且不易获得。 变暗效果还随着纤维长度的增加而增强。 由于这一问题,目前的光纤长度不能超过 10 m,这降低了激光器在生产环境中的布置灵活性。 此外,市售的绿光高功率连续波激光器的输出功率上限目前限制为 2 kW。

大多数工业激光器均输出近红外光,因此支持它们的整个基础设施都基于此波长。例如,绿光激光器加工头的可用选择有限,并且通常需要定制。 同样,辅助透镜、保护罩玻璃等光学元件也多用于红外激光器。 因此,已经使用红外激光器的制造商可能需要保持更大的备件和消耗品库存,以便在其操作中适应绿光激光器的使用,而不会出现服务延迟和停机。  

 

HighLight™ ARM 光纤激光器

光纤激光器的电效率比固态绿光激光器高得多。 也就是说,为了提供给定的输出功率,它们需要更少的电力并产生更少的废热。 这降低了拥有成本并简化了冷却。 另外,光纤激光器非常可靠。 而且,它们的红外输出可即时通过光纤进行传输。 但是,由于前面所述的问题,尽管有这些理想特性,它们并没有被广泛用于铜焊接。

相干公司几年前推出了 HighLight 系列可调环模 (ARM) 光纤激光器,已将这些光源的成本和实用优势引入传统技术无法充分解决的应用。 通常,在这些任务中必须仔细控制工作表面的功率空间分布和功率密度,以产生良好的焊接质量(减少飞溅、显著减少裂纹并降低孔隙率)。 典型示例包括镀锌钢的零间隙焊接、动力总成部件的低飞溅焊接以及在不使用填充焊丝的情况下无裂纹铝制悬挂部件的焊接。

空间功率分布的这种精确控制是通过 ARM 激光器的独特输出光束实现的,该光束包含一个中心光斑,周围是另一个同心激光环。 中心和环内的功率可以根据需要独立调整和调制,从而实现对熔池动力学的精细控制。

相干公司的 HighLight ARM 激光器可提供不同的中心/环比率和功率水平,可针对特定应用进行定制。 中心的直径可配置为 22 µm 至 100 µm,环外径可配置为 140 µm 至 200 µm。

对于铜焊接,需要高强度、高功率的中心光束。 这提供了轻松熔化材料所需的能量,尽管它的吸收系数相对较低,而环形光束有助于稳定匙孔。 结果是,无论工件的表面变化如何,都可以始终如一地开始和维持焊接过程,从而克服传统光纤激光器的局限性。

powering-e-mobility-figure-1.jpg

“对于铜焊接,需要高强度、高功率的中心光束。”

图 1: HighLight FL4000CSM-ARM 光纤激光器。

铜焊接结果

相干公司应用工程师使用 ARM 激光器进行了一系列铜焊接测试,该激光器具有直径为 22 µm 的高亮度中心光束和内径/外径为 100 µm/170 µm 的环形光束。 使用放大倍率为 1.4 的远程加工头聚焦激光,并使用氮气作为保护气体和横向射流。 焊接的材料是纯铜。 所有测试的激光功率均为 4 kW,中心为 1.5 kW,环为 2.5 kW。 照片(图 2)显示了实验装置。

通过改变焦点位置,最后确定焦点设置到材料表面上方 1.5 mm 时的焊接质量最好。 具体来说,此位置是焊透深度和焊接质量之间的适宜折衷。 如果直接聚焦在材料表面上,ARM 激光器会产生更深的焊透深度,但由此产生的焊缝表面质量和飞溅对于典型的电动汽车应用来说是不够的。 使用适宜光束焦点位置(表面上方 1.5 mm)时,工作表面上的光束轮廓如图所示。

 

“红外 ARM 激光器提供 2 倍的焊透深度”

图中描绘了刚才所述条件下厚度为 2 mm 的铜上焊透深度与速度的关系。 为了进行比较,还在相同条件下测试了 2 kW 绿光激光器。 因为 4 kW 红外光纤激光器仅产生 2 kW 的绿光输出,因此使用了较低的绿光功率。 比较结果表明,红外 ARM 激光器在不同焊接速度下可得到两倍的焊透深度。

powering-e-mobility-figure-2.jpg

图 2: 配备扫描头和屏蔽喷嘴的高亮度 ARM 光纤激光器焊接站。

图 3: 激光聚焦在工作表面上方 1.5 mm 时 ARM 在工作表面的光束轮廓(中心 1.5 kW,环 2.5 kW)。

powering-e-mobility-figure-4.jpg

图 4: 与 2 kW 绿光光纤激光器相比,4 kW 高亮度 ARM 的焊透深度。

焊接效率

还测量了 ARM 激光器的焊接效率,并与之前公布的 2 kW 绿光激光器的焊接结果进行了比较。 两个焊缝均使用氮气作为保护气体。 绿光激光器的公布数据显示了 0.5 mm² 的(恒定)焊缝横截面,焊透深度约为 1 mm。 ARM 激光器配置为提供这些相同结果。 具体来说,这需要 3.5 kW 的输出功率和 300 mm/s 的焊接速度,相比而言,2 kW 绿光激光器的焊接速度为 200 mm/s。 对这些结果进行归一化后,得到的 ARM 激光器线性激光功率为 10 J/mm,相比之下,绿光激光器的线性激光功率为 11.8 J/mm。 因此,绿光激光器的焊接效率略高。 不过,尽管效率存在这一微小差异,但 ARM 激光器提供的总功率更高,因此能够以高得多的焊接速度工作。

表面质量

另一个重要的考虑因素是表面质量。 传统光纤激光器能够焊接铜,但对表面质量的变化非常敏感。 照片显示了高亮度 ARM 激光器在喷砂和抛光铜表面上焊接的焊道。 该工艺在两个表面上都保持稳定,焊接质量没有变化。

powering-e-mobility-figure-5.jpg

图 5:输出功率为 3.5 kW、焊接速度为 300 mm/s 的高亮度红外 ARM 激光器产生的铜焊缝横截面。

powering-e-mobility-figure-6.jpg

图 6:图 6: 光滑和喷砂铜表面上使用 4 kW ARM 激光器以不同速度(从上到下 300-150 mm/s)得到的一致焊道

结论

这些测试表明,相干公司独特的高亮度 ARM 激光器是电动汽车中要求严苛的铜焊接应用的实用解决方案。 焊透深度和加工速度符合或超过当前的生产要求。 过去,对表面质量敏感和过程不稳定问题限制了光纤激光器铜焊接中的使用,ARM 激光器避免了这些问题。 这种新型 ARM 激光器具有成本、可靠性和实用优势,使得光纤激光器成为许多其他工业应用的首选,并最终将所有这些优势引入到了要求严苛的铜焊接任务中

powering-e-mobility-hero.jpg
安排免费咨询以讨论您的需求。

WHITE PAPER

Powering e-mobility: Welding copper with the Adjustable Ring Mode fiber laser

Overview

While fiber lasers are the dominant laser source for welding, their infrared output is highly reflected by some metals, especially copper, which limits their effectiveness with these materials. As a result, high-power, solid-state green lasers have emerged as a possible alternative for copper welding because these wavelengths are more strongly absorbed by that metal. But, these green lasers possess several practical limitations which ultimately result in higher cost of ownership. This document presents the results of recent copper welding tests which were performed successfully with a new type of adjustable ring mode (ARM) fiber laser having a high brightness center beam. Here, the high brightness ARM laser delivered excellent weld quality, and better penetration at various weld speeds, than commercially available kW class green lasers. These results indicate that this technology could bring all the cost, reliability, and practical advantages of fiber lasers to the demanding task of copper welding.

E-mobility manufacturing

The boom in E-mobility manufacturing is the main factor driving a significant increase in the demand for copper welding solutions. Copper possesses a number of desirable electrical, thermal, mechanical, and cost characteristics as compared to other metals, which is why it is employed throughout electric vehicles – in the stators of the electric motors themselves, in the power distribution system (busbars, etc.), and within batteries. And, manufacturing many of these components and systems involves welding copper.

However, the same high electrical and thermal conductivity characteristics that make copper ideal for these applications also make it challenging to weld with traditional fiber lasers. Specifically, its electronic properties make it highly reflective at the near-infrared wavelength of fiber lasers. And, it’s excellent thermal conductivity necessitates the input of a large amount of laser energy in order to melt the material and initiate the welding process.

As a result, when using a traditional fiber laser, very high power is typically required in order to achieve the power density necessary to initially melt the material. But, this “brute force” approach makes the welding process unstable, and extremely sensitive to minor variations in the work surface. In particular, the presence of localized surface oxidation or small-scale surface structure inhomogeneities can result in process instabilities. The final result may be inconsistent welds, poor surface quality, and porosity.

 

Solid-state green lasers

Copper is nearly an order of magnitude more absorptive in the green than the near infrared. Thus, the energy from a green laser can be more efficiently coupled into the work piece, resulting in a more stable and less sensitive process than possible with traditional fiber lasers. As a result, high power, solid-state, green lasers are being utilized by a few manufacturers, and evaluated by many more.

However, there are some significant practical issues with deploying high power green lasers in e-mobility manufacturing. Some of these derive from the inherent properties and construction of these green lasers themselves.

The laser materials used for solid-state green fiber or disk lasers produces near infrared light; frequency doubling is used to convert the infrared to green output. While this process is widely employed in lower power (sub-kW) with great success, it starts to run into some difficulties at the mulit-kW power levels required for most industrial copper welding tasks. Specifically, the frequency conversion process itself is only about 50% efficient. So, a 4 kW, single mode, IR laser is needed to yield 2 kW of green output power. The unconverted energy becomes heat which must be removed by a water-cooled heat sink. This makes these lasers energy inefficient (resulting in higher cost of operation due to higher electrical power consumption), and requires a high volume of cooling water. Additionally, the doubling crystals degrade over time because of the high powers involved, and can create reliability and downtime problems if not carefully managed. Some designs utilize complex beam shifters and crystal temperature stabilizers to compensate for this. 

"…a 4 kW, single mode, IR laser is needed to yield 2 kW of green output power."

Another practical issue with green lasers is that the standard optical fibers used for beam delivery are more readily darkened by green light, thus reducing their useful lifetime. Specialized fibers for green light can overcome this problem, but are more expensive and less readily available. The darkening effect also increases with the length of the fiber. This currently limits fiber length to 10 m, which reduces the flexibility in laser placement in the production environment. Plus, commercially available green, high power, CW lasers are currently limited to 2 kW of maximum output.

Most industrial lasers output in the near infrared, so the entire infrastructure for supporting them is based on this wavelength.For example, the available selection of process heads for for green lasers is limited, and often they need to be customized. Similarly, auxiliary lenses, protective cover glasses and other optical components are mostly for infrared lasers. Thus, a manufacturer already employing infrared lasers might need to maintain a greater stock of spare parts and consumables in order accommodate the use of green lasers in their operation without experiencing service delays and downtime.  

 

The HighLight™ ARM fiber laser

Fiber lasers are much more electrically efficient than solid state green lasers. That is, to deliver a given output power, they require less electricity and produce less waste heat. This reduces cost of ownership and simplifies cooling. Plus, fiber lasers are very reliable. And, their infrared output is readily fiber delivered. But, despite these desirable features, they haven’t been widely used for welding copper in particular because of the issues previously identified.

Coherent introduced HighLight Series adjustable ring mode (ARM) fiber lasers several years ago to bring the cost and practical benefits of these sources to applications that were not being adequately addressed by traditional technology. Typically, these are tasks in which the spatial distribution of power and power density at the work surface must be carefully controlled in order to yield good weld quality (low spatter, minimal cracking and reduced porosity). Typical examples are zero gap welding of galvanized steel, spatter free welding of powertrain components, and welding of aluminum hang-on parts with no cracking, without using filler wire.

This precise control over spatial power distribution is achieved through the unique output beam of the ARM laser, which consists of a central spot, surrounded by another concentric ring of laser light. The power in the center and the ring can be independently adjusted and modulated on demand, and this enables very careful control over the melt pool dynamics.

Coherent HighLight ARM lasers are available with various center-to-ring ratios and power levels which can be tailored to specific applications. The diameter of the center can be configured to be from 22 µm to 100 µm, and the ring outer diameter can vary from 140 µm to 200 µm.

For copper welding, a high intensity, high power center beam is needed. This provides the energy required to readily melt the material, despite its relatively low absorption coefficient, while the ring beam helps stabilize the keyhole. The result is that the welding process is initiated and maintained consistently, regardless of surface variations in the work piece, thus overcoming the limitations experienced with traditional fiber lasers.

Coherent HighLight FL4000CSM-ARM fiber laser

"For copper welding, a high intensity, high power center beam is needed."

Figure 1: HighLight FL4000CSM-ARM fiber laser.

Copper welding results

A series of copper welding tests were performed by Coherent applications engineers using an ARM laser having a high brightness center beam of 22 µm diameter, and a ring beam having an inner/outer diameter of 100 µm/170 µm. The laser was focused using a remote processing head with a magnification of 1.4, with nitrogen as shielding gas and cross jet. The material welded was pure copper. The laser power was 4 kW, with 1.5 kW in the center and 2.5 kW in the ring for all tests. The photo (Figure 2) shows the experimental setup.

Focus position was varied and it was determined that the best weld quality occurred with focus set 1.5 mm above the material surface. Specifically, this position was the best compromise between weld pentation and weld quality. The ARM laser produces deeper weld penetration if focused directly on the material surface, but the resultant weld surface quality and spatter are not sufficient for typical e mobility applications. The beam profile at the work surface using the optimum beam focus position (1.5 mm above the surface) is shown in the graphic.

 

"The infrared ARM laser delivers 2x the weld penetration"

The graph plots weld penetration on 2 mm thick copper as a function of speed under the conditions just described. A 2 kW green laser was also tested under the same conditions for comparison. Lower green power was used because a 4 kW infrared fiber laser only produces 2 kW of green output. The comparison shows that the infrared ARM laser delivers twice the weld penetration over a wide range of weld speeds.

Infrared ARM Fiber Laser Weld Station with Scanner and Shielding Nozzle

Figure 2: High brightness ARM fiber laser weld station with scanner and shielding nozzle.

Beam Profile of ARM at the Work Surface

Figure 3: Beam profile of ARM at the work surface (1.5 kW center and 2.5 kW ring) with the laser focused 1.5 mm above the work surface.

4 kW ARM Laser Weld Penetration Compared to a 2 kW Green Fiber Laser

Figure 4: Weld penetration for a 4 kW, high brightness ARM as compared to a 2 kW green fiber laser.

Weld Efficiency

Weld efficiency of the ARM laser was also measured and compared with previously published weld results for a 2 kW green laser. Nitrogen was used as shielding gas for both welds. The published data for the green laser showed a (constant) weld cross section of 0.5 mm², and a penetration depth of about 1 mm. The ARM laser was configured to deliver these same results. Specifically, this required an output power of 3.5 kW and a weld speed of 300 mm/s, as compared a weld speed of 200 mm/s second for the 2 kW green laser. Normalizing these results gives a linear laser power of 10 J/mm for the ARM laser, compared to 11.8 J/mm for the green laser. Thus, the green laser offers slightly higher weld efficiency. However, the higher total power available from the ARM laser allows it to operate at much higher weld speeds, despite this small difference in efficiency.

Surface Quality

Another important consideration is the surface quality. Traditional fiber lasers are able to weld copper but are very sensitive to changes in the surface quality. The photograph shows weld beads for a high brightness ARM laser welding on sanded and polished copper. The process stays stable on both surfaces with no change in weld quality.

Cross-Section of a Copper Weld

Figure 5: Cross-section of a copper weld produced by the high brightness, infrared ARM Laser, with an output power of 3.5 kW, at a welding speed of 300 mm/s.

Consistent Weld Beads on Smooth and Sanded Copper

Figure 6: Figure 6: Consistent weld beads on smooth and sanded copper using the 4 kW ARM laser at various speeds (300-150 mm/s top to bottom)

Conclusion

These tests demonstrate that the unique, Coherent high brightness ARM laser is a practical solution for demanding copper welding applications in e-mobility. Weld penetration and process speed match or exceed current production requirements. And, the ARM laser avoids the sensitivity to surface quality and process instability problems that have limited the use of fiber lasers for copper in the past. Thus, this new ARM laser finally brings all the cost, reliability, and practical advantages that have made fiber lasers the choice for so many other industrial applications to the demanding task of copper welding

E-Mobility Manufacturing
Schedule a no-cost consultation to discuss your needs.