白皮书

铥光纤激光技术可降低外科手术成本,改善患者的外科手术治疗效果

Holmium:YAG (Ho:YAG) 激光器广泛用于碎石术和其他外科手术方式,并取得了巨大成功。 但是,这些激光器在操作和实用特性方面仍然存在一些缺点。 这些限制是该技术固有的,很难克服。 目前,在包括碎石术、前列腺摘除术和其他显微外科手术在内的应用中,掺铥 (Tm) 光纤激光技术已成为 Ho:YAG 的潜在替代方案。 具体而言,掺铥光纤激光器有望为系统制造商提供更轻松的集成,降低操作成本,为用户提高性能,并改善患者的治疗效果。

Ho:YAG 激光器为固体激光源,可在 2.1 µm 的波长下产生高功率脉冲输出。 这种波长比可见光更容易被水吸收,从而可实现有效的组织消融。 它也可以通过光纤进行传输。 因此,这些激光器被广泛应用于外科手术,尤其是在激光碎石术中,它们被视为治疗的“黄金标准”。 

但是,Ho:YAG 技术已基本达到其设计极限。 因此,要实现更高可靠性、改进输出特性和降低成本,医疗激光系统制造商必须寻求另一种技术。 同样的道理也适用于外科医生,他们希望工具能够使其提高工作速度,产生更好的治疗效果,并且可降低拥有和操作成本。

 

铥光纤激光器

十多年前,铥光纤激光器 (TFL) 首次得到了很好的发展,并很快被确立为一种近乎理想的外科手术激光源,与 Ho:YAG 技术相比具有多种优势。 这一点得益于输出特性和操作特性的结合。 

在输出方面,TFL 的一个主要优势在于可在 1940 nm 的波长下运行。 该数字非常接近于近红外光下的水吸收峰值,这意味着来自 TFL 的光被吸收的强度是来自 Ho:YAG 的光的四倍。 此外,这种波长可轻松通过光纤进行传输。 事实上,TFL 的高光束质量实际上使其能够比典型 Ho:YAG 激光器的输出更有效地聚焦到光纤中。 这些特性在外科应用中具有重要优势。

 

Figure 1

Figure 1: A TFL can be designed to deliver output at a wavelength that closely matches the absorption peak of water in the near infrared, and can be more efficiently fiber delivered. This makes it a much more ideal surgical source than the Ho:YAG laser.

TFL 的实际优势直接源于其制造和运行方式。 要了解这些优势,比较 Ho:YAG 和铥光纤激光器的基本构造是很有用的。

Figure 2

Figure 2: Simplified schematics of the main optical elements of Ho:YAG and Thulium Fiber Lasers. The Ho:YAG utilizes several separate components whose alignment must be maintained precisely for proper operation. The TFL is built using all fiber coupled components, making it largely immune to subsequent misalignment, even when handled roughly.

 

The Ho:YAG is a flashlamped pumped, solid-state laser. A burst of light from the flashlamp supplies energy to the laser crystal, which then produces a pulse of laser light. The flashlamp, laser crystal, laser resonator mirrors, and other laser cavity components are typically all separate, discrete elements that are rigidly mounted so that they stay in optical alignment. 

In a TFL, the laser crystal is replaced by a long optical fiber. This fiber is doped with Tm compounds and other elements so that it provides optical gain (supports laser action). Instead of a flashlamp, pump light is supplied by semiconductor (diode) lasers which are coupled into this fiber. Similarly, the cavity mirrors are also Fiber Bragg Gratings that are integrated directly into the fiber itself. This arrangement produces a number of benefits, including:

电光转换效率更高

闪光灯产生的大部分光不会被 Ho:YAG 晶体吸收,从而转换为激光。 相反,它只会使系统升温,浪费能量。 相比之下,选择半导体激光器输出是为了使其被掺铥光纤高度吸收,从而产生高运行效率和较低的功耗。 

简化冷却

Ho:YAG 激光器中的闪光灯产生的大量废热需要水冷却,并会导致与之相关的所有成本、复杂性和空间使用。 TFL 中的高效半导体激光器泵浦机制可在除超高功率系统以外的所有系统中实现空气冷却。    

尺寸更小

除了因取消了水冷却系统而节省空间外,半导体泵浦激光器系统本身也比闪光灯系统紧凑得多。 

降低了设施要求

电光转化效率进一步允许 TFL 以标准功率运行,而不需要专用的高强度电流或高压电源。 此外,TFL 通过其较小的尺寸以及在正常操作实践下保持对准状态的坚固稳健组件提供了更大的系统移动性。 

更好的输出光束

Ho:YAG 输出为多模、不均匀光束,因此很难耦合到纤芯直径小于 200 µm 的光纤中。 这样就会限制将远端的光聚焦到一个小光点以进行治疗的能力。 TFL 提供将要受衍射限制的高斯分布输出曲线,该曲线没有热点。 该高质量的小光斑可以很容易地聚焦到纤芯直径小至 50 µm 的光纤中。 这样就会产生一个很小的焦点光斑,以便进行更有效的治疗。 

更灵活的脉冲

TFL 在脉冲能量、重复频率(脉冲频率)甚至脉冲形状方面支持更大的操作范围。 后者很容易通过改变半导体泵浦的驱动方式来进行更改。 这样可为用户提供更大的工作“参数空间”,并实现更广泛的手术方式。 

 

掺铥光纤的研究进展

在过去的几年里,技术的改进导致商业 TFL 的可用输出功率不断增加,同时还提高了可靠性并降低了拥有成本。 先进的掺铥光纤(例如 )一直是这一进步的关键因素。 这些光纤有多种形式可供选择,能够构建各种不同的特定光纤激光器配置。 

在这些光纤的设计和制造中体现了许多具体的进步。 例如,Coherent 的掺铥双包层光纤利用专门为铥离子之间的高度交叉弛豫而优化的玻璃成分。 这样可提高光从半导体泵浦到激光的转换效率。 此外,纤芯和包层几何形状已经过优化,可提供单模输出,同时仍使光纤尺寸足够大,以便于加工、切割和拼接。 这样可简化基于 TFL 的外科手术系统的制造,并使其更加可靠。

 

激光碎石术

TFL 对于碎石术特别有利,已被针对此用途进行了广泛研究。 根据迄今为止进行的调查和研究,由 TFL 支持的更广泛的操作范围似乎为该手术带来了一些切实的优势。 

TFL 具有增强治疗灵活性的能力,包括更大的脉冲重复频率范围(高达十倍)和比 Ho:YAG 低十倍的脉冲能量,以及单个脉冲的功率整形能力。 这种组合有助于提高结石消融的效率,因为它会产生较小的结石碎片,并减少回推(结石或碎片消融后离开光纤尖端的运动)。 减少对结石碎片的追逐可缩短治疗时间并减少随后患者的不适。 此外,TFL 支持比 Ho:YAG 更宽范围的脉冲持续时间,从而减少退化和光纤尖端烧结,使 TFL 光纤可重复使用。  

TFL 出众的光束质量允许使用直径小得多的光束传输光纤,这也对治疗和光纤寿命都有重大影响。 在治疗方面,较小的光纤直径似乎会产生较小的结石碎片并减少回推。 此外,TFL 光束中缺少热点进一步限制了尖端烧结,从而使 TFL 光纤可重复使用。 

细光纤也是新一代更有效输尿管镜的关键支持技术。 通过减小光纤尺寸,可提供更多的冲洗流空间,从而使外科医生获得更高的可见度。 它可以使仪器更小,光纤更灵活,从而可用于更广泛的外科手术场景。

总体而言,研究已经确定,与 Ho:YAG 激光器相比,TFL 的消融率更高,手术时间缩短(高达四倍)。 这是由于结石对来自 TFL 的光的吸收性更强、激光的脉冲特性以及结石回推(需要外科医生经常重新调整输尿管镜)减少的缘故。

 

前列腺摘除术

目前有几种技术用于治疗良性前列腺增生 (BPH)。 经尿道前列腺切除术 (TURP) 采用非激光方法(热线式)进行组织切除,目前被认为是治疗的黄金标准。 利用 Ho:YAG 激光器以及 Tm:YAG 激光器(固体激光器,而非光纤激光器)的外科手术也在广泛应用。 

尽管 TFL 前列腺摘除术 (ThuFLEP) 的最优操作方法仍在研究和开发中,但从已经进行的工作中可以得出一些关于该过程的肯定结论。 首先,TFL 似乎比其他激光方法更快(手术时间更短),但不如 TURP 速度快。 

典型的 ThuFLEP 系统具有摘除术(前列腺组织切除)和止血(阻止流血)的单独设置。 这样有助于外科医生有效地切除前列腺组织,但如果发生出血,则切换设置以阻止流血。 ThuFLEP 似乎在止血方面有一个明显的优势。 这一点得益于 TFL 独有的低峰值功率、长脉冲宽度和浅穿透深度(由于高吸水性)的组合特性。 这些特性可实现快速烧灼大面积组织的效果。  

TFL 在摘除术过程中还能提供出色的组织分离,但还不清楚它在这方面是否优于其他激光源。 然而,临床试验表明,ThuFLEP 可以改善外科手术效果,特别是在保留术后勃起功能方面,而保留术后勃起功能尤其是 TURP 一直难以解决的一个问题。  

 

Conclusion

The high reliability, exceptional ruggedness, low cost-of-ownership, and excellent output quality typical of fiber lasers that output at a wavelength of 1 µm has led to their widespread in industrial materials processing applications. Now, fiber lasers based on Tm-doped active optical fibers are delivering the same benefits for a new generation of lasers that operate at 1.94 µm. These fibers show tremendous promise as a surgical laser source that delivers improved safety and better patient outcomes over previous technologies, and are more cost-effective and easier to integrate for the system builder.

 

如您有任何需求,请联系我们。

WHITE PAPER

Thulium Fiber Laser Technology Delivers Reduced Costs and Better Patient Outcomes for Surgery

Holmium:YAG (Ho:YAG) lasers are widely employed for lithotripsy and other surgical modalities with great success. But, these lasers still present some drawbacks in terms of their operational and practical characteristics. These limitations are inherent to the technology and difficult to overcome. Now, thulium (Tm)-doped fiber laser technology has emerged as a possible replacement for Ho:YAG in applications including lithotripsy, prostate enucleation, and other microsurgical procedures. Specifically, Tm-doped fiber lasers promise easier integration for the system builder, lower operating costs and enhanced performance for the user, and improved results for patients.

Ho:YAG lasers are solid-state sources that produce high power, pulsed output at a wavelength of 2.1 µm. This wavelength is more strongly absorbed by water than visible light, enabling efficient tissue ablation. It can also be fiber delivered. As a result, these lasers are used extensively in surgical applications, most prominently in laser lithotripsy, where they are considered the “gold standard” for care. 

But, Ho:YAG technology has essentially reached its design limits. Thus, medical laser systems builders who seek higher reliability, improved output characteristics, and, of course, lower cost must look to another technology. The same is true for surgical practitioners who desire tools that will enable them to work more quickly, produce better results, and which cost less to own and operate.

 

Tm Fiber Lasers

The thulium fiber laser (TFL) was first developed well over a decade ago, and was quickly established as a nearly ideal surgical source, providing several advantages over Ho:YAG technology. This is due a combination of output properties and operational characteristics. 

In terms of output, a primary benefit of the TFL is that operates at a wavelength of 1940 nm. This is very much closer to the water absorption peak in the near infrared, meaning light from the TFL is absorbed about four times more strongly than light from the Ho:YAG. Plus, this wavelength is readily fiber delivered. In fact, the high beam quality of a TFL actually enables it to be focused much more efficiently into a fiber than the output of the typical Ho:YAG laser. These characteristics deliver important advantages in surgical applications.

 

Figure 1

Figure 1: A TFL can be designed to deliver output at a wavelength that closely matches the absorption peak of water in the near infrared, and can be more efficiently fiber delivered. This makes it a much more ideal surgical source than the Ho:YAG laser.

The practical advantages of TFLs derive directly from the way it is built and operates. To understand those, it’s useful to compare the basic construction of Ho:YAG and Tm fiber lasers.

Figure 2

Figure 2: Simplified schematics of the main optical elements of Ho:YAG and Thulium Fiber Lasers. The Ho:YAG utilizes several separate components whose alignment must be maintained precisely for proper operation. The TFL is built using all fiber coupled components, making it largely immune to subsequent misalignment, even when handled roughly.

The Ho:YAG is a flashlamped pumped, solid-state laser. A burst of light from the flashlamp supplies energy to the laser crystal, which then produces a pulse of laser light. The flashlamp, laser crystal, laser resonator mirrors, and other laser cavity components are typically all separate, discrete elements that are rigidly mounted so that they stay in optical alignment. 

In a TFL, the laser crystal is replaced by a long optical fiber. This fiber is doped with Tm compounds and other elements so that it provides optical gain (supports laser action). Instead of a flashlamp, pump light is supplied by semiconductor (diode) lasers which are coupled into this fiber. Similarly, the cavity mirrors are also Fiber Bragg Gratings that are integrated directly into the fiber itself. This arrangement produces a number of benefits, including:

Higher wall-plug efficiency

Most of the light produced by a flashlamp isn’t absorbed by the Ho:YAG crystal for conversion into laser light. Instead, it simply heats the system up and wastes energy. In contrast, the diode laser output is chosen so that it is highly absorbed by the Tm doped fiber, yielding high operating efficiency and lower power consumption. 

Simplified cooling

The large quantity of waste heat produced by the flashlamp in a Ho:YAG laser necessitates water cooling, and all its associated cost, complexity, and use of space. The efficient diode laser pumping mechanism in a TFL enables air cooling in all but the highest power systems.    

Smaller size

In addition to space savings due to eliminating a water cooling system, the pump diode laser system is itself much more compact than a flashlamp system. 

Reduced facilities requirements

The electrical efficiency further allows the TFL to run off standard power, without the need for a specialized high current or high voltage supply. Additionally, a TFL provides greater system mobility, both through its smaller size, as well as its robust components that hold alignment under normal handling practices. 

Better output beam

The Ho:YAG output is a multi-mode, non-uniform beam which makes it difficult to couple into fiber optics having a core diameter of under 200 µm. This constrains the ability to focus the light at the distal end into a small spot for treatment. The TFL delivers a nearly diffraction limited, Gaussian distribution output profile, which is free of hot spots. This small, high-quality spot can be readily focused into optical fibers with core diameters as small as 50 µm. This yields a small, focused spot for more efficient treatment. 

More flexible pulsing

The TFL supports a much greater operational range in terms of pulse energy, repetition rate (pulse frequency), and even pulse shape. The latter is easily varied by changing how the pump diodes are driven. This provides users with a much greater “parameter space” to work in, and enables a wider range of surgical modalities. 

 

Advances in Thulium-Doped Optical Fibers

Technological improvements over the past several years have resulted in a continual increase in the output power available from commercial TFLs, along with improved reliability and lower cost of ownership. Advanced Thulium-doped optical fibers, such as the Coherent NuTDF series, have been a key element in this progress. These fibers are available in a number of forms to enable construction of a variety of different specific fiber laser configurations. 

There are a number of specific advances embodied in the design and fabrication of these fibers. For example, Coherent thulium-doped double clad fibers utilize glass compositions specifically optimized for a high degree of cross-relaxations between Tm ions. This improves the conversion efficiency of light from the pump diodes into laser light. Additionally, the core and cladding geometries have been optimized to deliver single mode output, while still making the fiber dimension large enough to facilitate handling, cleaving, and splicing. This simplifies manufacturing of TFL-based surgical systems and makes them more reliable.

 

Laser Lithotripsy

TFLs are particularly advantageous for lithotripsy, and have been extensively investigated for this use. Based on the research and studies conducted to date, the wider range of operational range supported by TFLs seems to produce several tangible benefits for this procedure. 

TFLs have capabilities that enhance treatment flexibility, including a larger possible range of pulse repetition rates (as much as ten times higher) and pulse energies that are ten times lower than the Ho:YAG, plus the ability for power shaping of a single pulse. This combination assists in the efficiency of stone ablation as it produces smaller stone fragments and reduces retropulsion (movement of the stone or fragment away from the fiber tip following ablation). Less chasing of stone fragments reduces treatment time and subsequent patient discomfort. Additionally, the TFL supports a wider range of pulse durations than the Ho:YAG, resulting in a reduction of degradation and fiber tip burn back, making TFL fibers reusable.  

The superior beam quality of the TFL, which allows the use of much smaller diameter beam delivery fibers, also has a significant impact on both treatment and fiber lifetime. In terms of treatment, a smaller fiber diameter seems to produce smaller stone fragments and reduces retropulsion. Furthermore, the lack of hot spots in the TFL beam further limits tip burn back, making TFL fibers reusable. 

Small fibers are also a key enabling technology in a new generation of more effective ureteroscopes. By reducing fiber size, there is more space for irrigation flow which allows the surgeon higher visibility. It can make the instrument smaller, and the fiber more flexible, thus allowing its use in a greater range of surgical scenarios.  

Overall, research has established much higher ablation rates and reduced operative time (as much as a factor of four) for the TFL as compared to the Ho:YAG laser. This is due to a combination of stones’ stronger absorption of the light from the TFL, the laser’s pulsing characteristics, and the reduction of retropulsion, which requires the surgeon to frequently readjust the ureteroscope.

 

Prostate enucleation

Several techniques are currently in use for treating benign prostatic hyperplasia (BPH). Transurethral resection of the prostate (TURP), which uses a non-laser method (a hot wire) for tissue removal, is currently considered the gold standard for care. Surgery utilizing the Ho:YAG laser, and also Tm:YAG lasers (solid state lasers, not fiber lasers), are also in widespread use. 

While the exact optimal working methods for TFL enucleation of the prostate (ThuFLEP) are still very much under investigation and in development, some definite conclusions about the process can be drawn from the work already performed. First, TFL seems to go faster (less operative time) than other laser methods, but not as quickly as TURP. 

A typical ThuFLEP system has separate settings for enucleation (prostate tissue removal) and hemostasis (stopping bleeding). This allows the surgeon to efficiently remove prostate tissue, but then switch settings to stop bleeding if it occurs. One area where ThuFLEP seems to have a clear advantage is in hemostasis. This is due to the combination of low peak power, long pulse width, and the shallow depth of penetration (due to high water absorption) that are unique to the TFL. This all has the effect of rapidly cauterizing a large area of tissue.  

The TFL also delivers excellent tissue separation during enucleation, although it’s not clear that it’s superior in this regard to other sources. However, clinical tests indicate that ThuFLEP can improve surgical outcomes, particularly in preserving postoperative erectile function, which has particularly been an issue for TURP.  

 

Conclusion

The high reliability, exceptional ruggedness, low cost-of-ownership, and excellent output quality typical of fiber lasers that output at a wavelength of 1 µm has led to their widespread in industrial materials processing applications. Now, fiber lasers based on Tm-doped active optical fibers are delivering the same benefits for a new generation of lasers that operate at 1.94 µm. These fibers show tremendous promise as a surgical laser source that delivers improved safety and better patient outcomes over previous technologies, and are more cost-effective and easier to integrate for the system builder.

 

Schedule a no-cost consultation to discuss your needs.