白皮书

OPSL 优势白皮书系列 #1:
波长灵活性

Overview

The Optically Pumped Semiconductor Laser (OPSL) technology offers numerous advantages over other types of CW lasers, including wavelength flexibility. In particular, an OPSL can be designed to match the wavelength requirements of the application, which represents a paradigm shift over legacy technologies.

OPSL Advantages White Papers in this series:

#1. Wavelength flexibility
#2. Invariant beam properties
#3. No mode noise ("green noise")
#4. Superior reliability - huge installed base

blog-sapphire-hand-gradient.jpg

不折不扣的波长灵活性

光泵半导体激光器 (OPSL) 是一项独有的技术,它结合了激光二极管、DPSS(半导体泵浦固态)和离子激光器的优异属性,同时消除了它们的一些限制。 例如,许多离子气体激光器和第一代半导体泵浦固态激光器都能够产生许多应用所需的高质量 TEM00 模式的输出光束,这些应用包括共聚焦显微分析、流式细胞仪和全息摄影术。 遗憾的是,它们的输出波长限制在由增益材料决定的少数发射线上,例如,离子激光器为 488 nm,而 DPSS 激光器为 1064 nm(及其谐波)。 因此在过去,主要应用都要适应这些固定波长,有时甚至无法得到充分优化,最明显的是生命科学应用中的 488 nm 波长。 另一方面,基于二元和三元半导体的二极管激光器可以制造出来,在不断扩大的可见光和近红外波长范围内工作。 然而,这些设备通常是所谓的边缘发射器,光是从一个不对称的小(微米级)输出面发射出来的。 因此,输出光高度发散、不对称、不受衍射限制而且往往会发生散光。 因此,对于任何需要常规光束属性的应用,都需要适应多种光学器件来重塑光束并对其进行空间过滤。 此外,小输出面高强度意味着功率扩展受到限制,通常需要多个发射器排列成条状或阵列。 这不利于需要高度准直或聚焦光束的应用。

OPSL 是一种独特的激光器架构,兼具激光二极管的波长灵活性和传统激光器的卓越光束特性。 此外,它还具有其他重要优势,如功率的可扩展性。

 

OPSL 架构

OPSL 是一种垂直腔面发射激光器 (VCSEL)。 在常规 VCSEL 中,光是垂直于结点从二极管芯片的表面发射出来的,而不是从边缘发出的。 较大的输出孔径形成了发散较低的光束,而且光束也可以是对称的。 遗憾的是,电泵浦 VCSEL 不能产生边缘发射器的高功率,因为没有办法在不使用扩展电极的情况下用电荷载流子淹没一个大的区域,这样会带来太多的光损耗。 然而,通过用二极管激光器对设备进行光学泵浦以产生电荷载体,可以避免这个问题 — 这是Coherent的专利方法。 这就是 OPSL 的基础。

Figure 1

图 1:OPSL 中主要功能部件的示意图。

图 1 是一个简化的示意图,显示了 OPSL 的主要元件。 来自直接耦合单个发射器或光纤耦合激光二极管阵列的泵浦光被重新成像到 OPSL 芯片的前表面。 这种单片 III-V 族半导体芯片包含多层三元量子阱 (InGaAs),与二元 (GaAs) 层交替排列。 这些二元层经过优化,可以高效地吸收泵浦辐射,从而产生大量电荷载体。 这会在量子阱中引起粒子数反转和重组,从而导致受激激光发射。 在这些吸收/发射层的后面是几个交替排列的高折射率层和低折射率层,它们充当低损耗 DBR(分布式布拉格反射器)镜,专为所需的 OPSL 输出波长进行了优化。 半导体芯片安装在一个散热器上,以便对其整个后表面进行高效冷却。

 

OPSL 波长控制

与其他基于半导体的激光器一样,OPSL 的发射波长由量子阱结构的化学计量和物理尺寸决定。 因此,通过改变这些量子阱的组成和尺寸,OPSL 芯片可以根据应用的需要,定制不同的特定输出波长 — 见图 2。

Figure 2

图 2:Coherent提供众多标准波长的 OPSL,并为 OEM 生产定制波长的 OPSL。

大多数Coherent的 OPSL 都在腔内加入了一个双折射滤光器。 这解决了大多数二极管激光器的两个典型特性,包括 OPS 芯片。 首先,与基于原子发射的激光器(如氩离子激光器)相比,这种增益芯片可以在更大的波长范围内发射光。 此外,不同芯片的中心波长略有不同,也正是因为这个原因,激光二极管制造商在客户选择窄波长窗口的激光二极管时要收取一定的费用。 双折射滤光器是一种窄带腔内滤光器,其传输波长在工厂通过围绕其法轴旋转进行设置。 这个滤光器用于将发射限制在一个窄带内 — 在某些型号中是单一的纵向模式 — 同时还能将输出精确设置为目标波长。

Coherent的 OPSL 基于 InGaAs 增益芯片。 这是因为它们是超可靠、寿命超长、功率特性超高的二极管。 这种类型的量子阱器件可以设计成在极大的近红外范围内产生激光发射。 然后通过使用腔内倍频晶体将其有效地转换为可见光输出。 而对于需要紫外线输出的应用,一些 OPSL 还配备了一对腔内晶体,以实现三倍频。

 

波长灵活性的价值

在 OPSL 技术出现之前,如果应用中需要毫瓦级到瓦级连续 (CW) 输出的可见光或紫外光激光,就不得不使用一个现有的固定波长。 起初,固定波长是离子气体激光器的发射谱线,如氩离子激光器的 488 nm 和 514 nm 谱线。 然后 1064 nm 的 DPSS 激光器(腔内倍增至 532 nm)开始广泛使用。 可见光谱中存在很大的空白,没有简单的激光器可用,特别是在光谱的黄色和橙色部分。 尽管对这些光谱区域的激光器的需求日益增长,在生命科学领域尤其明显,但是能够提供的解决方案只有使用基于低效弱发射谱线复杂混合方案的氪离子激光器、染料激光器或固体激光器。 因此,需要这些波长的应用往往要做出妥协,以匹配其中一个可用的激光波长。 OPSL 引起了范式变化。 今天,每一个现有或新兴应用都得到了专门设计的 OPSL,其波长可以优化该应用。 两个截然不同的应用说明了这种能力的优势。

 

用于治疗 AMD 的光凝术

湿式年龄相关性黄斑变性 (AMD) 是导致视力丧失和失明的主要原因。 这种情况的特点是黄斑区血管渗漏。 这是视网膜上的一个小区域(直径 < 6 mm),位于视野的中心,负责高分辨率的彩色视觉。 根据渗漏血管的位置,激光光凝术通常是一种推荐的治疗方法。 在这里,激光产生可控的局部烧灼,破坏微小的元凶血管,防止进一步出血。

成功实施光凝术的一个关键是组织选择性;也就是说,在不以任何方式损害周围组织的情况下封闭目标血管。 泄漏的血管和其他组织之间的主要区别是存在血液。 因此,通过使用优先被血液吸收的激光波长,可以最好地实现选择性。 此波长还需要是一个可见波长,这样激光就可以无害通过眼球的透明前端。 血液中具有可见光吸收能力的主要成分是氧合血红蛋白。多年来,最常用的激光波长是 532 nm(来自半导体泵浦固态激光器),接近氧合血红蛋白的弱吸收峰。

Figure 3

图 3:577 nm OPSL 已成为治疗特定类型湿式 AMD 的首选光凝术激光器,因为它与氧血红蛋白的最大吸收量完全匹配。

然而,氧合血红蛋白的实际吸收峰值是 577 nm(见图 3)。 Coherent为这一应用设计了一种全新的 OPSL 激光器 (Genesis MX577),它在这一特定波长下可提供 3 瓦的功率输出。 与 532 nm 波长的上一代产品相比,该激光器能够更好地封闭血管,同时减少了眼球的热负荷。 除了这一重要益处外,OPSL 的快速脉冲(可达 100 kHz)能力使其能够使用“微脉冲”来提供高度剂量控制,以最大限度地提高伤口愈合反应,并最大限度降低局部组织创伤。 由于这些原因,577 nm OPSL 已经取代了 532 nm DPSS,成为这一应用中的首选激光器。

 

具有卓越色彩的灯光表演

灯光表演代表了一个截然不同的应用领域,在这个领域,OPSL 凭借其波长灵活性,成为了首选激光器。 激光灯光表演引擎所能产生的颜色范围(色域)取决于所使用的特定激光波长。 传统上,大多数彩色投影仪使用三种激光:红色、绿色和蓝色 (RGB),其中蓝色是传统氩离子激光的 488 nm 波长。 然而,人眼对色差非常敏感,因此激光灯光表演面临的一大挑战就是如何产生真正的白色,技术上称为 D65。

Coherent使用 OPSL 技术,在传统的 RGB 波长上提供瓦级功率以及两个重要的非传统波长用于灯光表演,这两个波长就是 最初用于光凝术的 577 nm 波长以及 460 nm 波长。 如图 4 所示,后者确保了更大的色域,更重要的是,只需混合两种激光(577 nm 和 460 nm),就可以产生白色。 下面这个具体的例子进一步说明了这些新波长对于灯光表演设计师的价值。

Figure 4

图 4:通过添加输出波长为 460 nm 和 577 nm 的激光器,大大扩展了传统 RGB 灯光表演引擎的色域,也简化了“白色”输出的制作。

2011 年,BMW 想要推出他们的全新 i 系列节油汽车 – 对于一个一直重视性能和操控的品牌来说,这是一个重大市场发展。 他们选择了法兰克福国际车展 (IAA) 发布这个系列。 发布会由 BlueScope 广告公司构思,由 Rockservice 公司管理,由位于德国阿伦的先进激光表演公司 LOBO 提供服务。 此次发布会广受关注,其总体概念是通过蓝色的激光隧道来揭开每一辆车的面纱(见图 5)。此外,发布会还包括其他激光效果。 这些激光元素都必须与 BMW 公司的蓝色完全一致,就像发布会的其他视觉组件(如 LED 屏幕)所使用的颜色一样。 但是,人们对颜色的感知会因地点、背景灯光和其他因素而变化。 因此,LOBO 需要能够在现场对其投影仪的蓝色输出顺畅地进行细微改变。 如果使用标准的 RGB 投影机,要实现完美的颜色匹配是非常困难的。 于是,LOBO 为他们的 RGB 投影机配置了两个蓝色的 OPSL(Coherent Taipan),波长分别为 488 nm 和 460 nm。 这样他们就能够简单地“调整”蓝色输出,以便在最终的照明条件下与展厅环境中其他 BMW 显示部分的感知颜色相匹配。

Figure 5

图 5:在 2011 年法兰克福国际车展 (IAA) 上,由 OPSL 驱动的显示屏帮助发布了 BMW 公司的首批节油汽车(i8 和 i3)。 图片由 BMW 提供。

Summary

The OPSL offers an unmatched combination of advantages for applications requiring milliwatts to watts of CW laser light. One of the most important is wavelength flexibility which has, for the first time, enabled laser wavelength to be matched to the precise needs of the application, rather than vice versa.

如您有任何需求,请联系我们。

WHITE PAPER

OPSL Advantages Whitepaper Series #1:

Wavelength Flexibility

Overview

The Optically Pumped Semiconductor Laser (OPSL) technology offers numerous advantages over other types of CW lasers, including wavelength flexibility. In particular, an OPSL can be designed to match the wavelength requirements of the application, which represents a paradigm shift over legacy technologies.

OPSL Advantages White Papers in this series:

#1. Wavelength flexibility
#2. Invariant beam properties
#3. No mode noise ("green noise")
#4. Superior reliability - huge installed base

blog-sapphire-hand-gradient.jpg

Wavelength Flexibility without Compromise

The optically pumped semiconductor laser (OPSL) is a unique technology that combines the most desirable attributes of laser diodes, DPSS (Diode Pumped Solid State) and Ion lasers, while eliminating a number of their compromising limitations. For instance, many ion gas lasers and first generation diode-pumped solid-state lasers were all capable of producing an output beam with the good quality TEM00 mode required by many applications, including confocal microscopy, flow cytometry and holography. Unfortunately their output wavelengths were limited to the handful of emission lines determined by the gain material, e.g., 488 nm for ion lasers and 1064 nm (and its harmonics) for DPSS lasers. Major applications have historically been fit, and sometime less than optimized, in order to match one of these fixed wavelengths, most notably 488 nm in life sciences. On the other hand, diode lasers based on binary and ternary semiconductors can be fabricated to operate at an ever growing range of visible and near-IR wavelengths. However, these devices are typically so-called edge emitters, where the light is emitted from a small (micron sized) and asymmetrical output facet. As a result, the output is highly divergent, asymmetric, not diffraction limited and often astigmatic. For any application requiring conventional beam properties, these require a variety of optics to reshape and spatially filter the beam. Also, the high intensity at the small output facet means that power scaling is limited and usually requires multiple emitters arranged in a bar or array. This is disadvantageous for applications requiring a highly collimated or focused beam.

The OPSL is a unique laser architecture delivering the wavelength flexibility of laser diodes and the superior beam properties of traditional lasers. In addition, it offers other important advantages, such as power scaling and reduction.

 

OPSL Architecture

The OPSL is a type of vertical cavity surface emitting laser (VCSEL). In a conventional VCSEL, light is emitted perpendicularly to the junction and exits the face of the diode chip, rather than the edge. The larger output aperture results in a lower divergence beam that can also be symmetric. Unfortunately, electrically pumped VCSELs cannot produce the high power of an edge emitter, because there’s no way to flood a large area with charge carriers without using extended electrodes that would introduce too much optical loss. However, this problem can be avoided by optically pumping the device with a diode laser to create the charge carriers – an approach patented by Coherent. This is the basis of the OPSL.

Figure 1

Figure 1: Schematic illustration of the main functional components in an OPSL.

Figure 1 is a simplified schematic showing the key elements of an OPSL. Pump light from a direct coupled single emitter or fiber-coupled laser diode array is re-imaged into the front surface of the OPSL chip. This monolithic III-V semiconductor chip contains layers of ternary quantum wells (InGaAs) alternated between binary (GaAs) layers. These binary layers are optimized to efficiently absorb pump radiation, resulting in a high population of charge carriers. This leads to population inversion and recombination in the quantum wells, which results in stimulated laser emission. Behind these absorption/emission layers are several alternating high and low index layers that act as a low-loss DBR (Distributed Bragg Reflector) mirror optimized for the desired OPSL output wavelength. The semiconductor chip is mounted on a heat sink to enable efficient cooling over its entire rear surface.

 

OPSL Wavelength Control

As with other semiconductor-based lasers, the OPSL emits at a wavelength determined by the stoichiometry and physical dimensions of the quantum well structures. Thus, by changing the composition and size of these quantum wells, the OPSL chip can be tailored for different specific output wavelengths as demanded by application – see figure 2.

Figure 2

Figure 2: Coherent offers OPSLs at numerous standard wavelengths and produces custom wavelengths for OEMs. 

Most Coherent OPSLs incorporate a birefringent filter inside the cavity. This addresses two peculiarities typical of most diode lasers, including the OPS chip. First of all, this gain chip can emit light over a broader spread of wavelengths compared to lasers based on atomic emission such as an argon ion laser. Moreover, the center wavelength varies slightly from chip to chip, which of course is why laser diode manufacturers charge a premium for selecting laser diodes in a narrow wavelength window. The birefringent filter acts as a narrowband intracavity filter whose transmission wavelength is factory set by rotation about its normal axis. This filter is used to limit the emission to a narrowband – a single longitudinal mode in some models – and also to precisely set the output to the target wavelength.

Coherent OPSLs are based on InGaAs gain chips. That is because these are some of the most reliable, longest lifetime diodes with the highest power characteristics. Quantum well devices of this type can be designed to produce laser emission over a broad range in the near-IR. This is then efficiently converted to visible output via the use of an intracavity frequency doubling crystal. And for applications needing ultraviolet output, some OPSLs are also equipped with a pair of intracavity crystals to perform frequency tripling.

 

The Value of Wavelength Flexibility

Before the advent of OPSL technology, applications requiring a visible or UV laser beam with milliwatts to watts of continuous wave (CW) power were compelled to use one of the available fixed wavelengths. At first, these were the emission lines of ion gas lasers such as the 488 nm and 514 nm lines of the argon ion laser. Then DPSS lasers at 1064 nm, intracavity doubled to 532 nm, became widely available. There were large gaps in the visible spectrum where no simple laser was available, particularly in the yellow and orange part of the spectrum. The growing demand for lasers emitting in these regions, particularly in the life sciences, could only be met by the krypton ion laser, dye laser, or by solid-state lasers using complex mixing schemes based on inefficient weak emission lines. As a result, applications requiring these wavelengths were often compromised, in order to match one of the available laser wavelengths. The OPSL caused a paradigm change. Today, every established or emerging application is supported by an OPSL designed specifically for the wavelength that optimizes that application. Two very different applications illustrate the advantages of this capability.

 

Photocoagulation for AMD

Wet-form age-related macular degeneration (AMD) is a leading cause of sight loss and blindness. The condition is characterized by leakages from blood vessels in the macula. This is a small (< 6 mm diameter) area of the retina that is in the center of the field of vision and is responsible for high resolution color vision. Depending on the location of the leaking blood vessel, laser photocoagulation is often a recommended treatment. Here the laser produces controlled, local cauterization, destroying the tiny culprit vessels and preventing further bleeding.

A key to successful photocoagulation is tissue selectivity; that is, closing the target vessels without damaging surrounding tissue in any way. The main differentiator between the leaking vessel and other tissue is the presence of blood. Thus, selectivity can best be achieved by using a laser wavelength that is preferentially absorbed by blood. It also needs to be a visible wavelength to permit the laser to pass benignly through the transparent front of the eye. The main component of blood with visible absorption is oxy-hemoglobin, and for many years, the most commonly used laser wavelength was 532 nm (from a diode-pumped solid-state laser), which is close to a weak absorption peak in oxy-hemoglobin.

Figure 3

Figure 3: The 577 nm OPSL has become the laser of choice for photocoagulation used to treat certain types of wet-form AMD because it exactly matches and absorption maximum for oxy-hemoglobin. 

However, the absorption of oxy-hemoglobin actually peaks at 577 nm (see Figure 3). Coherent designed a completely new OPSL laser for this application (Genesis MX577) which delivers 3 watts of output at this specific wavelength. This provided improved vessel closure with reduced thermal loading on the eye, compared to the 532 nm predecessor. Beside this important benefit, the OPSL fast-pulsing (up to 100 kHz) capabilities enabled the use of “micropulsing” to provide a high degree of dosing control to maximize wound-healing response, with a minimum of localized tissue trauma. For these reasons, the 577 nm OPSL has displaced the 532 nm DPSS as the preferred laser in this application.

 

Light Shows with Superior Color Palette

Light shows represent a very different applications space where the wavelength flexibility of OPSLs has made them the first choice in lasers. The range of colors (the color gamut) that can be generated by a laser lightshow engine depends on the specific laser wavelengths utilized. Traditionally, most color projectors used three lasers – red green and blue (RGB) – where the blue was the argon ion legacy wavelength at 488 nm. However, the human eye is very sensitive to color differences and a challenge with laser light shows has been to generate a true white, technically referred to as D65.

Coherent uses OPSL technology to provide multi-watt power at legacy RGB wavelengths, as well as two important non-legacy wavelengths for light shows: 577 nm originally pioneered for photocoagulation and 460 nm. As shown in figure 4, the latter ensures a broader gamut of colors and more importantly, white can be generated from mixing just two lasers – at 577 and 460 nm. A specific example further illustrates the value of these new wavelengths for the light show designer.

Figure 4

Figure 4: Adding lasers with output at 460 nm and 577 nm substantially increases the color gamut of a traditional RGB lightshow engine, and also simplifies producing “white” output.

In 2011, BMW wanted to launch their new i-series of fuel efficient cars – a major market development for a brand that had always emphasized performance and handling. They selected the Frankfurt International Motor Show (IAA). The launch was conceived by the BlueScope agency and managed by Rockservice, using the services of LOBO, a leading laser light show company based in Aalen, Germany. The overall concept of this high-visibility launch was to unveil each of the cars through a tunnel of blue laser light – see figure 5. In addition, the presentation included other laser effects. These laser elements all had to exactly match the BMW corporate blue color as used in the other visual components (e.g. LED screens) of the launch presentation. But perceived color varies depending on the location, background lighting and other factors. So LOBO needed the ability to smoothly make subtle changes on site to the blue output of their projectors. Achieving a perfect color match would have been very difficult with standard RGB projectors. Instead, LOBO configured their RGB projectors with two blue OPSLs (Coherent Taipan) – at 488 nm and 460 nm. This enabled simple “tweaking” of the blue output to match the perceived color of the other BMW display components in the exhibition hall setting under final lighting conditions.

Figure 5

Figure 5: A display powered by OPSLs helps launch the first fuel-efficient cars from BMW (the i8 and i3) at the 2011 Frankfurt International Motor Show (IAA). Image courtesy of BMW.

Summary

The OPSL offers an unmatched combination of advantages for applications requiring milliwatts to watts of CW laser light. One of the most important is wavelength flexibility which has, for the first time, enabled laser wavelength to be matched to the precise needs of the application, rather than vice versa.
Schedule a no-cost consultation to discuss your needs.