白皮书

OPSL 优势白皮书系列 #4:
卓越的可靠性 - 庞大的安装基数

综述

光泵半导体激光器 (OPSL) 是一项独有的专利技术,与其他连续 (CW) 固态激光器相比,它具有卓越的可靠性和使用寿命。 加上 OPSL 的其他优势,这种激光器的安装量接近 100,000 万台,应用于从生命科学到灯光表演等各种要求严格的领域,这证明了其可靠性。

此系列中的 OPSL 优势白皮书:

#1. 波长灵活性
#2. 恒定光束属性
#3. 无“绿色噪声”
#4. 卓越的可靠性 - 庞大的安装基数

blog-sapphire-hand-gradient.jpg

出色的可见光和紫外光可靠性

在过去的 50 年中,出现了几种不同的技术,为连续 (CW) 可见光和紫外光激光器的应用提供了支持。 首先是离子激光器,然后是灯泵浦固态、半导体泵浦固态 (DPSS)、激光半导体模块技术,现在是 OPSL 技术。 作为领先的激光器制造商,Coherent 使用这些技术开发了许多成功的产品。 这为我们提供了一个独特的视角,可以客观地将每种类型激光器的性能和优势与我们一流的现场经验进行比较。 在所有这些激光器类型中,OPSL 已证明是最可靠的激光器之一,并且使用寿命非常长 — 见图 1。例如实践证明,我们的低功率 OBIS 和Sapphire产品线的 B5 值可达 20,000 小时。 这个令人印象深刻的数字意味着,这些激光器中,有 95% 在运行 20,000 小时后仍能提供指定的性能。 任何其他可见光或紫外光连续激光技术都无法超越这一数据。

对于最终用户和 OEM 来说,兼具高可靠性和长寿命是 OPSL 在市场上取得成功的关键因素。 该领域中目前有近 100,000 台 OPSL 投入使用,功率从毫瓦到数瓦不等,这很好地证明了此类激光器在市场上获得了广泛认可,取得了成功。 在生命科学仪器、半导体检测和壮观的户外灯光秀等多种应用中,Coherent 的 OPSL 已成为可见光和紫外光连续激光器的首选。 此外,在生命科学领域,许多 OEM 现在正在设计他们的第三代和第四代仪器,这些仪器全部使用 Coherent 的 OPSL。

Figure 1

图 1:对 32 台随机( Coherent Sapphire)OPSL 的持续寿命测试显示了该技术典型的极长寿命统计数据。

Reliable De-Rated Pump Diodes

A laser is only as reliable and dependable as its components. A key active component in an OPSL is the pump diode that performs the initial electrical power to optical power conversion. The OPSL utilizes a near infrared InGaAs gain chip. One of the advantages of this arrangement is that this gain chip is optimally pumped by 808 nm light. This enables the use of gallium arsenide (GaAs) based pump diodes. GaAs diodes represent some of the most mature semiconductor laser technology with an incredible longevity track record in telecom and data storage.

Coherent is a vertically integrated laser manufacturer, where we design, fabricate, assemble and test all critical components and sub-assemblies in house. As such, we have always been at the forefront of 808 nm diode development, pioneering many of the innovations that have pushed lifetimes to tens of thousands of hours. Some of these well-documented advances have included the development of aluminum-free active area in the diodes themselves (called AAA Technology), and packaging technologies such as the first use of hard solder. Moreover, the acquisition of the DILAS team has brought even more packaging expertise to Coherent.

 

Figure 2

图 2:通过引入 AAA™ 技术,Coherent 提高了 808 nm 二极管的寿命。 这些典型的寿命测试数据是在 25ºC 的工作温度下记录的,并推断出设备寿命大于 50,000 小时。 这些二极管是我们 OPSL 的关键部件。

Unlike many other laser diode types, the 808 nm pump diodes used in our OPSLs can produce high power densities at room temperature. This eliminates the need for costly and complex cooling components, and eliminates these cooling systems as possible failure mechanisms. Of course, laser diode emission wavelength changes with temperature. But the absorption bandwidth of the gain chip is very broad, unlike the narrow absorption peaks of crystals used in a DPSS laser. There is thus no requirement to precisely maintain the pump diode wavelength and hence temperature. This eliminates another possible mechanism for long-term performance degradation.

In addition, the pump diodes in Coherent OPSLs are always operated at de-rated power levels with significant headroom. This is a major factor in the long lifetime of these pump diodes and allows the drive current to be safely increased to offset any natural minor long-term aging of the pump lasers.

 

可靠稳定的增益介质

半导体增益芯片是另一个关键部件,也是 OPSL 独有的部件。 增益盘实际上是一个光学泵浦垂直腔半导体激光器 (VCSEL)。这种单片 III-V 族半导体芯片包含多层三元量子阱 (InGaAs),与二元 (GaAs) 层交替排列。 VCSEL 架构的主要优势在于,输出是垂直于有源结发射的,即通过器件的大面积表面发射,而不是通过狭窄的不对称边缘面发射。 这样就能形成一个大直径圆形对称的输出光束。 因此,输出面的光功率密度比用于可见光二极管的典型边缘结构要低得多。 这是 OPSL 和可见光激光二极管之间的一个主要区别,所以 OPSL 的功率可以轻松扩展,而且切面功率损伤这一故障机制也得以消除。 切面损坏仍然是一些可见光二极管的主要故障机制。可见光和紫外光 OPSL 避免了高切面强度,这是其固有寿命超过直接二极管的原因之一。 而且,由于增益介质是一个大面积半导体,因此不会发生色心缺陷积累,而在许多用于半导体泵浦固态 (DPSS) 激光器替代品的晶体中都会发生这些缺陷。

因此,OPSL 中的两个关键有源部件 – 泵浦二极管和增益芯片,都具有明显的潜力,可以提高可靠性和延长寿命。 为了充分挖掘这一潜力,Coherent 使用了几个重要的设计创新,这些创新均来自于我们作为 OEM、工业加工和科学应用的激光器供应商的五十多年的经验。

 

整体构造和 PermAlign 技术

许多传统激光器的性能随着时间的推移而降低,其中一个主要原因是腔体准直丢失。 反复的自然热循环以及环境振动和操作冲击的长期影响会导致激光器腔体光学器件发生位移。 这至少可能导致模式质量下降,如 TEM00 激光降级为多模输出光束。 该现象还可能导致功率降级,在最坏的情况下,这可能会完全阻止激光发射。 以往,为了纠正这种偏移,最终用户或服务工程师需要对光学器件进行“细微调整”,使其回到正确的准直位置。 像 Coherent 这样的激光器制造商很早以前就意识到,在现代应用中这种解决方案不可行或不可接受,特别是当激光器嵌入 OEM 仪器中时。 我们在 OPSL 中使用了两种经过长期验证的解决方案,以消除未对准这一故障机制。

Figure 3

图 3: Coherent 生产的 OPSL 的功率范围很广,从面向仪器 OEM 尺寸微小的毫瓦级 OBIS Core 激光器到数瓦级 Genesis 系列。

Coherent 生产的 OPSL 具有多种输出功率,如图 3 所示。在我们的较小型 OPSL(如 Sapphire 和 OBIS 激光器)中,激光腔组装在一个小陶瓷板上。 此外,我们的 OPSL 广泛使用了我们独有的专利 PermAlign™ 支架。 大多数可调整的光学机械支架包括调整螺丝和一个或多个锁定螺丝,意在锁定最终的调整。 但是,由于环境振动和/或机械冲击,以及由于使用不同的金属而产生的热影响,即使是这种高质量的支架,其排列也会随着时间的推移而渐渐偏移。 相比之下,PermAlign™ 支架是单片金属支架,光学器件永久焊接在上面。 在监测光束准直和激光器性能的同时,金属支架本身的形状也被微调到最终准直。 因此,在这样的支架上,没有任何零件可以移动或滑动。

 

其他实际考虑因素

我们在设计和制造激光器方面拥有长期经验,这样就消除了我们的 OPSL 中另外两个可能导致性能下降或故障的因素:增益介质加热和光学表面污染。 具体来说,我们实施了一个有效的冷却方案,直接降低了 OPSL 增益芯片中的温度。 这种冷却方案基于一种新的专利安装技术,它直接将芯片固定在散热器上。 这是造实现 OPS 激光器长寿命的关键因素之一。 增益芯片的高效冷却还有一个好处,那就是可以在设备尺寸给定的情况下实现更高的功率。

此外,我们在产品设计期间实施了 HALT(高加速寿命测试),并在产品制造期间实施了 HASS(高加速应力筛选)。 HALT 的概念是为了回答这样一个问题:“在不建造数百台设备和进行数万小时测试的情况下,最大限度地提高产品设计的可靠性?”在开发过程中,工程单元受到的压力远远超过其正常工作条件(通常是温度、机械冲击/振动、驱动电流/功率,或这些参数的组合),从而产生故障。 然后,我们对这些故障模式进行分析,并在产品中加以避免;并消除极端条件下的故障模式,确保这些相同的故障模式在正常工作条件下不会产生影响。 另一方面,HASS 使用类似但不过于极端的条件(仍然超出标准工作条件)来筛选材料问题或工艺故障。 HALT 和/或 HASS 可结合用于多种技术和产品,保证了可靠的产品设计和长寿命产品的交付。

最后,为了实现激光器的长寿命,就必须维持激光器的原始光学表面,这个因素看似平凡但绝对关键。 原因在于,微污染物会在这些光学表面积累,最终导致吸收、激光功率损失,有时甚至导致光学器件损坏。 对于 OPSL,我们为工业超快激光器采用了严谨的解决方案,以建立和维持一个无污染的密封腔体。 这尤其意味着要仔细选择材料,包括尽量少使用非金属材料。 现在,我们使用的唯一腔内有机物是Coherent的工程师严格测试过的材料,这些材料在除气和与激光光学器件的兼容性方面均合格。 此外,长期使用工业紫外激光器的经验也表明,我们针对机械和光学元件的工厂清洁协议同样重要。 即使是微量污染物,如油或润滑剂,最终也会从金属部件迁移到光学表面,这就需要清洁或更换光学器件。 我们有成熟的方法来清除这些材料的任何痕迹。

 

Summary

To summarize, OPSL technology is inherently robust and can deliver long lifetimes with reliable performance. At Coherent, we have used our unmatched experience in diverse laser technology to develop practical OPSLs that fully deliver on this intrinsic potential. With nearly 100,000 of our OPSLs now successfully operating in the field, the market has confirmed that these are the most reliable lasers we’ve ever produced.

如您有任何需求,请联系我们。

WHITE PAPER

OPSL Advantages Whitepaper Series #4:

Superior Reliability – Huge Installed Base

Overview

The optically pumped semiconductor laser (OPSL) is a unique, patented technology that provides superior reliability and longevity compared to other continuous wave (CW) solid state lasers. Together with other OPSL advantages, this reliability is confirmed by an installed base exceeding 100,000 lasers in diverse and demanding applications from life sciences to light shows.

OPSL Advantages White Papers in this series:

#1. Wavelength flexibility
#2. Invariant beam properties
#3. No mode noise ("green noise")
#4. Superior reliability - huge installed base

blog-sapphire-hand-gradient.jpg

Unmatched Visible and UV Reliability

Applications for continuous wave (CW) visible and ultraviolet lasers have been supported by several different technologies over the past 50 years. First there was the ion laser, then lamp-pumped solid state, diode-pumped solid state (DPSS), laser diode modules, and now OPSL technology. As a leading laser manufacturer, Coherent has developed numerous successful products using all these different technologies. This gives us a unique perspective to objectively compare the performance and advantages of each type with our unrivalled field experience. Of all these laser types, OPSLs have proven to be one of the most reliable and to deliver very long lifetimes – see figure 1. For example, our low power OBIS and Sapphire product lines have a demonstrated B5 value of 20,000 hours. This impressive number means 95% of these lasers are still delivering specified performance after 20,000 hours of operation. No other visible or ultraviolet CW laser technology can surpass this statistic.

The combination of high reliability and long lifetime is a key factor in the market success of OPSLs, to both end users and OEMs alike. This market acceptance and success is evidenced by nearly 100,000 OPSLs now in the field, at powers from milliwatts to multiple watts. In such diverse applications as life science instrumentation, semiconductor inspection and spectacular outdoor light shows, OPSLs from Coherent have established themselves as the first choice in visible and ultraviolet CW lasers. Moreover, in life sciences, many OEMs are now designing their third and fourth generations of instruments, all using Coherent OPSLs.

Figure 1

Figure 1: Ongoing lifetests on 32 random (Coherent Sapphire) OPSLs showing the extremely long lifetime statistics typical of this technology.

Reliable De-Rated Pump Diodes

A laser is only as reliable and dependable as its components. A key active component in an OPSL is the pump diode that performs the initial electrical power to optical power conversion. The OPSL utilizes a near infrared InGaAs gain chip. One of the advantages of this arrangement is that this gain chip is optimally pumped by 808 nm light. This enables the use of gallium arsenide (GaAs) based pump diodes. GaAs diodes represent some of the most mature semiconductor laser technology with an incredible longevity track record in telecom and data storage.

Coherent is a vertically integrated laser manufacturer, where we design, fabricate, assemble and test all critical components and sub-assemblies in house. As such, we have always been at the forefront of 808 nm diode development, pioneering many of the innovations that have pushed lifetimes to tens of thousands of hours. Some of these well-documented advances have included the development of aluminum-free active area in the diodes themselves (called AAA Technology), and packaging technologies such as the first use of hard solder. Moreover, the acquisition of the DILAS team has brought even more packaging expertise to Coherent.

Figure 2

Figure 2: Coherent increased the lifetime of 808 nm diodes with the introduction of our AAA™ Technology. These typical lifetest data were recorded at an operating temperature of 25ºC and extrapolate to a device lifetime of >50,000 hours. These diodes are key components in our OPSLs.

Unlike many other laser diode types, the 808 nm pump diodes used in our OPSLs can produce high power densities at room temperature. This eliminates the need for costly and complex cooling components, and eliminates these cooling systems as possible failure mechanisms. Of course, laser diode emission wavelength changes with temperature. But the absorption bandwidth of the gain chip is very broad, unlike the narrow absorption peaks of crystals used in a DPSS laser. There is thus no requirement to precisely maintain the pump diode wavelength and hence temperature. This eliminates another possible mechanism for long-term performance degradation.

In addition, the pump diodes in Coherent OPSLs are always operated at de-rated power levels with significant headroom. This is a major factor in the long lifetime of these pump diodes and allows the drive current to be safely increased to offset any natural minor long-term aging of the pump lasers.

Reliable, Stable Gain Medium

The semiconductor gain chip is another critical component and one that is unique to the OPSL. The gain disk is actually an optically pumped vertical cavity semiconductor laser (VCSEL), to give it its full name. This monolithic III-V semiconductor chip contains layers of ternary quantum wells (InGaAs) alternated between binary (GaAs) layers. The major advantages of the VCSEL architecture arise because the output is emitted perpendicular to the active junction, i.e., through the large area of the device rather than through a narrow asymmetric edge facet. The result is a large diameter circular and symmetric output beam. This results in much lower optical power density at the output facet than for typical edge architectures as used in visible diodes. This is a major differentiator between OPSLs and visible laser diodes, enabling simple power scaling in OPSLs and eliminating facet power damage as a failure mechanism. Since facet damage is still a leading failure mechanism in some visible diodes, avoiding high facet intensity is one of the reasons that visible and ultraviolet OPSLs have longer inherent lifetimes than their direct diode counterparts. And, because the gain medium is a large area semiconductor, it does not suffer from any build-up of color center defects which arise in many crystals used in diode pumped solid state (DPSS) laser alternatives.

The two critical active components in an OPSL – the pump diodes and the gain chip – therefore both offer the clear potential for much better reliability and longer lifetimes. To fully exploit this potential, Coherent has utilized several important design innovations derived from our fifty-plus years of experience as a supplier of lasers to OEMs, industrial processes, and scientific applications.

 

Monolithic Construction and PermAlign Technology

A major reason why the performance of many legacy lasers degrades over time is loss of cavity alignment. Repeated natural thermal cycling and the long-term impact of ambient vibrations and handling shocks can cause laser cavity optics to shift. At a minimum, this can result in compromised mode quality, such as a TEM00 laser degrading to a multimode output beam. It can also result in power degradation, and in the worst case, this can prevent lasing altogether. Historically, such shifts were corrected by the end user or service engineer “tweaking” the optic(s) back into proper alignment. Laser manufacturers like Coherent realized long ago that this was not a viable or acceptable solution in modern applications, particularly where the laser is buried in an OEM instrument. We use two of our time-proven solutions in our OPSLs to eliminate misalignment as a failure mechanism.

Figure 3

Figure 3: Coherent produces OPSLs over a wide range of powers from the tiny milliwatt level OBIS Core lasers for instrumentation OEMs to the multiwatt Genesis series.

Coherent produces OPSLs over a wide range of output powers – figure 3. In our smaller OPSLs such as Sapphire and OBIS lasers, the laser cavity is assembled on a small ceramic plate. Furthermore, our OPSLs make extensive use of our unique and patented PermAlign™ mounts. Most adjustable optomechanical mounts include adjustment screws and one or more locking screws that attempt to freeze the final adjustments(s). But even in high quality mounts of this type, their alignment can creep over time due to ambient vibrations and/or mechanical impacts, as well as thermal influences because of their use of different metals. In contrast, PermAlign™ mounts are single piece metal mounts to which the optics are permanently soldered. The shape of the metal mount itself is then finely adjusted to its final alignment while monitoring beam alignment and laser performance. Thus, there are no parts which can move or slip in such a mount.

 

Other Practical Considerations

Our long experience in designing and manufacturing lasers was used to eliminate two other potential sources of performance degradation or failure in our OPSLs; heating in the gain medium and contamination of optical surfaces. Specifically, we implemented an effective cooling scheme to directly lower the temperature in the OPSL gain chip. This cooling scheme is based on a new, proprietary mounting technique which directly attaches the chip to a heatsink. This is one of the key factors responsible for the long lifetime of these OPS lasers. Efficient cooling of the gain chip has the added benefit of allowing higher power to be extracted from a given device size.

In addition, we have implemented the use of HALT (Highly Accelerated Life Testing) during product design and HASS (Highly Accelerated Stress Screening) during product manufacture. The concept of HALT is in answer to the question, “how do you maximize the reliability of a product design, without building hundreds of units and testing for tens of thousands of hours?” During development, engineering units are stressed far beyond their normal operating conditions (typically with temperature, mechanical shock/vibration, drive current/power, or a combination of these parameters) to create failures. These failure modes are then analyzed and “designed out” of the product; elimination of the failure modes from extreme conditions ensures that those same failure modes can have no impact at normal operating conditions. HASS, on the other hand, uses similar but less extreme conditions (still outside of standard operation) to screen for material issues or workmanship failures. A combination of HALT and/or HASS is used across technologies and products, guaranteeing reliable product designs and shipment of long-life products.

Finally, maintaining pristine optical surfaces in a laser is a seemingly mundane but absolutely critical factor in enabling long laser lifetime. The reason is that micro-contaminants can accumulate on these optical surfaces, ultimately leading to absorption, laser power loss and sometimes even damaged optics. For OPSLs, we adopted rigorous solutions used in our industrial ultrafast lasers to build and maintain a contamination-free sealed cavity. In particular, this means careful choice of materials, including minimized use of non-metals. Today, the only intracavity organics that we use are materials that Coherent engineers have already exhaustively tested and qualified for outgassing and compatibility with laser optics. In addition, experience with long-lived industrial UV lasers has also shown that our factory cleaning protocols for both the mechanical and optical components are equally important. Even trace amounts of contaminants, such as oil or lubricant, can eventually migrate from metal parts to optical surfaces, requiring cleaning or replacement of the optics. We have proven methods to remove any traces of these materials.

 

Summary

To summarize, OPSL technology is inherently robust and can deliver long lifetimes with reliable performance. At Coherent, we have used our unmatched experience in diverse laser technology to develop practical OPSLs that fully deliver on this intrinsic potential. With nearly 100,000 of our OPSLs now successfully operating in the field, the market has confirmed that these are the most reliable lasers we’ve ever produced.
Schedule a no-cost consultation to discuss your needs.