白皮书

用于掺镱光纤激光系统的新高功率单发射极二极管

综述

FACTOR 976 nm 系列能够帮助采用极度紧凑型轻便封装的掺镱光纤激光器提高泵浦,并且能够在不需要额外冷却的情况下以仅 21A 的工作电流达到 400W 的功率。 这些新型二极管适用于高功率工业和医疗应用,并提供 VBG 锁定,以进一步减少波长性能受到的热影响。

虽然许多光纤耦合模块传统上基于高功率半导体激光器巴条,但腔面钝化技术的改进提高了 COMD 阈值,从而提高了每个单发射极的功率。 发射极排列成阶梯状结构,增加了发射极之间的距离,从而增强了冷却效果。 这种布局也有利于实现多个发射极的空间复用,而偏振复用可用于某些 FACTOR 二极管封装。

用于掺镱光纤激光器系统的单发射极二极管
新的 FACTOR 976 nm 二极管有两种配置:
Verdi Factor - 22 Factor - 16
输出功率 (W) 400 150
工作电流 (A) 21 12
电光学效率 >45(典型值 50) >48(典型值 51)
纤芯/熔覆直径 (µm) 200 / 240 106.5 / 125
90% 功率容量 NA 0.16(典型值 93%) NA 0.15(典型值 93%)
VBG VBG VBG
光纤输出 尾纤 尾纤
尺寸 (nm) 97 x 76 x 12 96 x 50 x 12
重量 (g) 500 230
相干公司 FACTOR 16 型和 FACTOR 22 型

FACTOR-16 基于一个由 16 个单发射极组成的阵列,能够在 106.5/125 µm 光纤中泵送高达 150 W 的功率。 该装置设计有交替的侧面安装孔,能够在非常密集的阵列中交错布置二极管。 通过模块底面的热传导进行冷却。 该型号不包含 ModeStrip 光纤,随附光纤尾纤为紧凑型。

FACTOR-22 基于一个由 22 个单发射极组成的阵列,能够在 200/240 µm 光纤中泵送高达 400 W 的功率。 该装置包括一个光纤 ModeStrip,能够将一些热量引入该区域。 通过模块底面的热传导冷却进行散热,如果需要,客户可以安装散热片。 有两个孔可用于安装温度传感器。

这两种型号设计坚固,几乎消除了安装过程中可能发生的模块弯曲,这样一来无论是否安装散热片,都能确保正常散热。

VGB 锁定

相干公司的 VGB 锁定设计目标是在不到 1 nm 的范围内实现 90% 的功率容量。 FACTOR 22 的线宽为 0.7 nm,效率为 52.6%;FACTOR 16 的线宽为 0.9 nm,效率为 51.2%。

下图显示了温度范围内的 976nm 波长锁定。

温度范围内的 976nm VGB 波长锁定

“在提供各种功率级别和波长的 VGB 锁定产品方面,相干公司是行业领导者之一。”

 

在提供各种功率级别和波长的 VGB 锁定产品方面,相干公司是行业领导者之一。 凭借内置 VGB 能力,这些 FACTOR 二极管受益于锁定性能的改善。 可在 4 - 24 A 的功率范围内和 20 - 50° 的温度范围内实现出色的锁定(即锁定光谱的带内功率为 99%),表明不需要主动温度控制就能实现这些效果。 提供的锁定范围为 ±6 nm,这意味着锁定适用于 970 nm 至 982 nm 之间的未锁定中心波长,这是市场上最宽的锁定范围之一。

出色锁定,无需主动温度控制

光纤前数值孔径

FACTOR 976 nm 系列的数值孔径 (NA) 是设计光纤合束器的一个重要因素。 在这里,使用一个简单的 CCD 相机测量远光片,分辨率高,没有过饱和现象。 NA 0.16 的孔径显示为下面的白环。

光纤前数值孔径

 

结果显示,在水平和垂直平面上的横截面均为典型的高斯式分布,没有任何意外副峰。 左下角显示了每个功率要求的 NA。 构建的每个模块都要通过这个测试,以确保整个二极管系列的质量。

“我们已经完成了大量环境测试,以便在各种条件下验证坚固设计和性能……”

最大可用功率与 波长

其他型号

我们还提供其他波长的 FACTOR 二极管,包括 793 nm(用于 106.5 µm 光纤的 10 - 40 W 掺铥光纤泵浦)以及 88X(用于基于 Nd3+ 的 200 µm和 400 µm 纤芯 150 W DPSS 激光器),从而为设计高度精密的激光器提供更有效但复杂度较低的泵浦方案。 另外我们还提供 808 nm 的型号,用于 Nd 末端泵送、医疗和材料加工应用。如有需要,我们还提供用于医疗应用的 1060 nm 型号。
安排免费咨询以讨论您的需求。

WHITE PAPER

New High Power Single-Emitter Diodes for Ytterbium Fiber Laser Systems

Overview

The FACTOR 976 nm series support higher pumping of Ytterbium fiber lasers in a very compact and lightweight package, and are capable of powers up to 400 W with a mere 21 A of operating current with no additional cooling. These new diodes are suitable for high power industrial, medical or defense applications, and provide VBG locking to further reduce thermal influence on wavelength performance.

While many fiber-coupled modules have traditionally been based on high power diode laser bars, recent improvements in facet passivation provides a higher COMD threshold, and therefore enables higher power per single emitter. Emitters are arranged in a into a stair-step structure that increases the distance between emitters, which enhances cooling. This arrangement also facilitates spatial multiplexing of multiple emitters, and polarization multiplexing can be used in some FACTOR diode packages.

Single-Emitter Diodes for Ytterbium Fiber Laser Systems
The new FACTOR 976 nm diodes are offered in two configurations:
Verdi Factor - 22 Factor - 16
Output Power (W) 400 150
Operating Current (A) 21 12
Electro-Optical Efficiency >45 (typ. 50) >48 (typ. 51)
Fiber Core / Cladding Diameter (µm) 200 / 240 106.5 / 125
90% Power Content NA 0.16 (typ. 93%) NA 0.15 (typ. 93%)
VBG VBG VBG
FIber Output Pigtail Pigtail
Dimensions (nm) 97 x 76 x 12 96 x 50 x 12
Weight (g) 500 230
Coherent FACTOR 16 and FACTOR 22 Models

The FACTOR-16 is capable of pumping up to 150 W in a 106.5/125 µm fiber, and is based on a 16-single emitter array. The unit has been designed with alternate side mounting holes to stagger the diodes in a very dense array. Cooling is done by conduction through the bottom side of the module. This model does not contain a modestrip fiber, and the attached fiber pigtail is compact.

The FACTOR-22 is capable of pumping up to 400 W in a 200/240 µm fiber, and is based on a 22-single emitter array. The unit includes a fiber modestrip, which introduces some heat into the area. The heat is removed by the conduction cooling applied to the bottom side of the module, and customers can install a cooling plate if needed. Two holes are available for the mounting of a temperature sensor.

Both models have been robustly designed to virtually eliminate potential bending of the module during the mounting process, which will ensure proper heat dissipation with or without an installed cooling plate.

VGB Locking

Coherent design goals for VGB locking were to achieve 90% power content in less than 1nm. For the FACTOR 22, the line width was 0.7 nm with an efficiency of 52.6% and for the FACTOR 16, it was 0.9 nm with an efficiency of 51.2%.

The chart below shows the wavelength locking at 976nm over temperature range.

VGB Wavelength Locking at 976nm Over Temperature Range

"Coherent is a leader in providing VGB locked products with various power levels and wavelengths."

 

Coherent is a leader in providing VGB locked products with various power levels and wavelengths. With in-house VGB capabilities, these FACTOR diodes benefit from improvements in locking performance. Perfect locking (that is, 99% power in-band for the locked spectrum) was achieved at power ranges from 4 A to 24 A and across a temperature range that varied from 20° C to 50°, indicating that no active temperature control was required to achieve these results. The locking range presented is ±6 nm, meaning that locking works for an unlocked center wavelength between 970 nm and 982 nm, which is among the widest locking range on the market.

Perfect Locking With No Active Temperature Control Required

Ex-Fiber Numerical Apertures

The Numerical Aperture (NA) of the FACTOR 976 nm series is an important factor in designing the fiber combiner. Here, the far profile beam is measured using a simple CCD Camera with high resolution and no oversaturation. The aperture of NA 0.16 is shown as the white ring below.

Ex-Fiber Numerical Apertures

 

The results show the cross section in both the horizontal and vertical plane is a typical Gauss-like distribution without any unexpected side peaks. The bottom left shows the NA for each power requirement. Each module built is put through this test to ensure quality assurance across the complete diode family.

"Excessive environmental testing has been done to validate the robust design and performance under a wide range of conditions…"

Maximum Power Available vs. Wavelength

Additional Models

FACTOR Diodes are also available in other wavelengths, including 793 nm for Thulium fiber pumping from 10 to 40 W from 106.5 µm fiber, and 88X for Nd3+ based DPSS lasers from 150 W from 200 µm and 400 µm fiber cores for a more efficient and less complicated pumping scheme for designing highly sophisticated lasers. Additional models are offered in 808 nm for Nd end-pumping, medical and materials processing applications, and in 1060 nm for medical applications if required.
Schedule a no-cost consultation to discuss your needs.