白皮书

这种强大的技术,可以实现以 1 万亿帧/秒的速率对单个超快事件进行成像

综述

连续定时全光学映像摄影 (STAMP) 使用相干公司的 Astrella激光器,在 ~ 100 fs 到 ~ ns 的时间尺度上捕获视频信号。 例如,这种技术可以用来研究太赫兹波的产生和传播(~ 100 fs)、激光烧蚀过程中的等离子体动力学(~1 ps)和水中的冲击波(~1 ns)。

Astrella

对高速成像方法的需求

传统的观察超快现象用的是泵浦/探测方法。 在这项技术中,使用激光脉冲来激发研究之中的样品,经过特定的短延迟后,探测脉冲抓取快照图像。 然后,在拍摄过程中,连续递增延迟时间,从而构建视频。 但是,这种技术需要反复测量,因为每次激发样品时只能拍摄一张照片。

Keiichi Nakagawa 教授(东京大学)的课题组,主要研究声波和光与材料(特别是活组织)的相互作用。 几年前,他们意识到需要一种单个动态(非重复)的超快成像方法,例如声波波前的传播方式。 因此他们开发了 STAMP 来满足这一需求 [1]。

几年前,他们意识到需要一种单个动态(非重复)的超快成像方法,例如声波波前的传播方式。 因此他们开发了 STAMP 来满足这一需求。

 

工作原理

STAMP 的基本原理如图 1 所示。STAMP 使用相干公司 Astrella 钛宝石飞秒放大器,具有宽光谱带宽和充足的单脉冲能量。 首先,飞秒脉冲通过啁啾进行展宽,产生不同波长的激光以交错延迟时间到达样品。 Nakagawa 将这个部分称为“时间映射”。

当激光通过样品后,每个子脉冲按波长分开,然后被探测器(CCD 或 CMOS)阵列的特定区域探测到。 因此每个区域变成一个单独的视频帧。 激光发射脉冲和探测的方式有点像快速的闪光灯照明和成像。

Figure 1

图 1:STAMP 将激光脉冲分离出不同波长(有时间延迟)的子脉冲。 照射样品后,子脉冲将按波长分离并记录在探测器阵列上 [1]。

 

扩展 STAMP 性能

自从最初开发这项技术以来,Nakagawa 小组一直在不断创新 STAMP,从三个方面扩展其功能。 一种是开发新的脉冲时序映射技术。 起初,他们依靠玻璃棒或光纤中的自然色散现象来实现时间映射。 但这样只能实现皮秒级或更短的时间尺度。

为了实现纳秒级,他们最近开发了一种称为“光谱回路”的光学设备。在这种方法中,先对光脉冲进行空间啁啾,然后进行捕获,光脉冲在四个反射镜产生的光路中循环(参见图 2)。光在逸出之前循环的圈数取决于波长。 每一圈循环都会释放一个子脉冲,其波长比前一个子脉冲更长。 这样就会产生纳秒级的子脉冲。

另外,他们也在尝试 STAMP 新的空间映射方法。 例如,他们发明了一种巧妙的多面镜,他们称之为“切片镜”。凭借这个多面镜,可以在两个探测器上对子脉冲进行 3X3 模式的成像,以获得总共 18 帧的视频脉冲,所有帧都具有高空间像素分辨率。

此外,Nakagawa 小组还开发了多色 STAMP,这是一种全新的超快单个事件成像概念。 比如双色 STAMP,使用了相干公司 Astrella 钛宝石飞秒放大器产生的二次谐波400 nm的子脉冲,以及基频光 800 nm 的子脉冲。 这一方案能够获得超快现象的“彩色图像”,从而实现前所未有的快速光谱成像。

Figure 2

图 2: 光谱回路的设置,循环圈数和延迟时间取决于脉冲波长 [2]。

 

STAMP 用于过程监控

Nakagawa 课题组使用 STAMP 来检查工业材料加工和生命科学等领域的过程监控。

太赫兹 (THz) 波是一种电磁波,在材料科学、生物技术和医学、电子设备和环境等领域具有广泛的潜在应用。 超短脉冲 (USP) 激光器广泛用于产生高强度超短太赫兹波。 由于这种现象发生在超短时间内,之前只能使用基于时间分辨的泵浦探测方法通过反复测量才能成像。

使用 STAMP,通过将超短脉冲观察铁电晶体的超快动力学,Nakagawa 课题组首次捕捉到产生太赫兹波的运动画面。

图 3 显示了以 4.4 Tfps 的速率捕获的太赫兹波产生和传播的动态过程。 刚开始时,晶格振动是随机激发的,然后逐渐相位对齐并产生单个波包。 这种波在晶体中以大约六分之一光速传播。 从拍摄的图像中判断出,它是一种电磁波,波长在太赫兹范围内。

Figure 3

图 3: 当单个 USP 激光脉冲激发铁电晶体的晶格振动时,产生的太赫兹 (THz) 波的 STAMP 图像序列 [1]。

超短脉冲激光烧蚀

皮秒和飞秒输出的超短脉冲激光器越来越多地用于精密微加工。 包括从医疗器械到智能手机组件等产品的钻孔、划线和标记。 因为超短脉冲激光的加工精度高。 而且几乎没有热效应的影响。

但目前大家都不太了解其加工过程的细节。 Nakagawa 课题组使用 STAMP 来研究这个过程。 他们对单个 35 fs 激光脉冲在玻璃样品上的烧蚀过程进行成像。

在此实验中,他们配置了双色 STAMP 装置,以实现 >1 Tfps 的有效帧速率。 图 4 的图像记录了实验过程。 从原始的双色图像中,得到了电子密度图。 通过实验数据,可以推算激光脉冲烧蚀产生的等离子体羽辉的大小、形状、速度和电子密度分布。

Figure 4

图 4: 显示单个 USP 激光脉冲烧蚀玻璃时产生的等离子体羽辉的 STAMP 图像 [3]。

 

冲击波在水中的传播

Nakagawa 课题组对激光脉冲在水里产生的冲击波进行了成像。 Nakagawa 解释说,超声波和激光与活组织的相互作用对于医学治疗、成像和生命科学研究非常重要。 (水是活组织的主要成分。)

如图 5 所示,他们绘制了冲击波前的传播图。 图像的灰度对比度表示冲击波强度。 Nakagawa 课题组通过观察 STAMP 捕获的动力学过程来研究冲击波与生物细胞相互作用。

Figure 5

图 5: 单个激光脉冲激发的冲击波前在水中传播的 STAMP 图像 [4]。

 

为什么选择相干公司的 Astrella?

Nakagawa 教授列举了 Astrella 完美契合 STAMP 研究的几个优点。 他指出,“就性能而言,Astrella 提供了高质量的输出光束,这一点很重要,因为光束质量直接影响图像质量。 Astrella 的光谱带宽更容易生成多个子脉冲,而且我们可以在需要时将脉宽压缩到 35 fs 左右。 高脉冲能量 (7 mJ) 是另一个关键优势,因为我们在时间和空间上将输出光束调制为 STAMP 脉冲会产生能量损耗,并且双色 STAMP 还需要一部分脉冲能量来产生 SHG 脉冲。 当然,我们还需要脉冲能量来激发样品。”

Nakagawa 教授还提到了几个优势,包括 Astrella 是一款免维护的一体化激光器。 这种操作简单性至关重要,因为激光器只是整套系统中的一个关键组成部分。 他指出,“这意味着使用 STAMP 的任何人无需成为激光专家,即可充分利用这项技术。 通过简单的用户界面,就可以精确控制激光器。 同样重要的是,我们发现 Astrella 非常稳定、可靠,无需保养或计划外的维修和升级。”

他总结道:“是的,我们非常喜欢这款激光器。”

“Astrella 提供了高质量的输出光束,这一点很重要,因为光束质量直接影响图像质量。 Astrella 的光谱带宽更容易生成多个子脉冲,而且我们可以在需要时将脉宽压缩到 35 fs 左右。

– Keiichi Nakagawa,助理教授
东京大学

总结

Nakagawa 实验室开发了这种独特的方法来获取单个事件的极高速视频,以支持他们的研究。 现在,由于他们的不断创新和 Astrella 操作的便捷性,使这种方法成为了一种灵活易用的技术。 这使得它广泛适用于其他飞秒到纳秒的快速动力学研究领域。

参考文献

[1] K. Nakagawa et al., “Sequentially timed all-optical mapping photography (STAMP).” Nature Photonics 8, 695–700 (2014).
[2] T. Saiki et al., “Spectrum circuit for producing spectrally separated nanosecond pulse train in free space.” CLEO 2020, Online, May 2020.
[3] K. Shimada et al., “Electron density imaging of ultrafast plasma dynamics with two-color STAMP.” ALPS2021, Online, April 2021.
[4] T. Saiki et al., “Nanosecond single-shot imaging system with a picosecond exposure time for monitoring the shock wave effects on cells.” Symposium on Shock Waves in Japan, Online, March 2021.

安排免费咨询以讨论您的需求。

WHITE PAPER

Powerful technique images single ultrafast events at an incredible 1 trillion frames/sec

Overview

Sequentially Timed All-optical Mapping Photography (STAMP) uses a Coherent Astrella to capture video bursts on timescales of ~100 fs to several ns. This enables the study of terahertz wave generation and propagation (~100 fs timescale), plasma dynamics in laser ablation (~1 ps), and shock waves in water (~1 ns), for example.

Astrella

The need for a high-speed imaging method

The traditional method for visualizing extremely high-speed phenomenon is the pump-probe approach. In this technique, a laser pulse is used to excite the sample under study, and a probe pulse then grabs a snapshot image after a specific short delay. A video is then built up by sequentially incrementing the amount of this delay over a series of shots. But, while this is a useful and powerful technique, it’s only suitable for imaging repetitive events that repeat consistently and uniformly because only one snapshot can be taken each time the sample is excited.

Prof. Keiichi Nakagawa (University of Tokyo) heads a group pursuing diverse research projects which all somehow involve the interaction of acoustic waves and light with materials, particularly living tissue. Several years ago, they realized they needed a method to produce an ultrafast video stream of a single (non-repeating) highly dynamic event, such as the propagation of an acoustic wavefront. They developed STAMP to meet this need [1].

Several years ago, they realized they needed a method to produce an ultrafast video stream of a single (non-repeating) highly dynamic event, such as the propagation of an acoustic wavefront. They developed STAMP to meet this need.

 

How does it work?

The basic principles of STAMP are outlined in Figure 1. STAMP exploits the wide spectral bandwidth and ample pulse energy from a Coherent Astrella titanium:sapphire femtosecond amplifier. First the femtosecond pulse is stretched and/or split by chirping so that the different wavelengths components being used to illuminate the sample arrive with staggered delay times. Nakagawa calls this part “temporal mapping.”

After they’ve passed through the sample, each sub-pulse is separated by wavelength and then directed on to a specific region of a (CCD or CMOS) camera array. Each region thus becomes a separate video frame. In this way, the laser pulses and detection act somewhat like a fast strobe illumination and imaging device.

How STAMP Works

Figure 1: STAMP splits the laser pulse into sub-pulses with different wavelengths (and hence time delays). After illuminating the target, the sub-pulses are separated and recorded on a camera array [1].

 

Extending STAMP performance

Since originally developing the technique, the Nakagawa group have continued to innovate STAMP in order to extend its capabilities in three ways. One avenue for expansion has been creating clever techniques for the temporal mapping of pulses. Originally, they relied on the natural dispersion experienced in a glass rod or fiber to achieve temporal mapping. But that limits the video timescale to picosecond events or faster.

To measure events on the nanosecond timescale they recently developed an optical device called a “spectrum circuit.” In this approach, the light pulses are spatially chirped and then trapped, cycling around a path created by four mirrors – see Figure 2. The number of laps the light makes before escaping depends on wavelength. So every lap releases a sub-pulse at a longer wavelength than the one before. This yields a stream of sub-pulses on the nanosecond timescale.

They’ve also been busy innovating on the spatial mapping part of STAMP. For example, they have invented a clever multifaceted mirror they call a “slicing mirror.” This allows them to image a 3X3 pattern of sub-pulses on each of two cameras for a total video burst of 18 frames, all at high spatial pixel resolution.

Furthermore, the Nakagawa group have developed multiple-color STAMP, which is a completely new concept of ultrafast single-shot imaging. In one version, called two-color STAMP, they generate pulses at the second harmonic of a Coherent Astrella titanium:sapphire femtosecond amplifier and use these 400 nm sub-pulses in conjunction with the fundamental 800 nm sub-pulses to execute their technique. This scheme allows them to acquire “color images” of ultrafast phenomena, thus enabling unprecedentedly fast spectral imaging.

Unprecedentedly Fast Spectral Imaging

Figure 2: The spectrum circuit is arranged so that the number of laps, and hence the delay, depends on the pulse wavelength [2].

 

Some processes imaged by STAMP

The Nakagawa group have used STAMP to examine processes in areas as diverse as industrial materials processing and life sciences.

Terahertz (THz) waves are electromagnetic waves with a wide range of potential applications in fields such as materials science, biotechnology and medicine, electronic devices, and the environment. Ultrashort pulse (USP) lasers are widely used for generating intense ultrashort THz waves. Since this phenomenon occurs on the ultrashort timescale, it has previously only been observed by repetitive imaging based on the time-resolved pump-probe method.

Using STAMP, Nakagawa's group were the first to ever capture the moment of THz wave generation as a moving frame by directing ultrashort pulses into a ferroelectric crystal and observing the associated ultrafast dynamics.

Figure 3 shows the generation and propagation of THz waves acquired with 4.4 Tfps. Initially, the lattice vibrations are excited randomly, but gradually they become phase-aligned to produce a single wave packet. The wave propagates in the crystal at about one-sixth the speed of light. The sequential frames show that the waves are electromagnetic in nature with a wavelength in the terahertz regime.

Generation and Propagation of THz Waves

Figure 3: Sequences of STAMP images visualizing the terahertz (THz) wave radiation when a single USP laser pulse excites lattice vibrations in a ferroelectric crystal [1].

Ablation with USP laser pulses

Ultrashort pulse lasers with picosecond and femtosecond outputs are increasingly used for precision micromachining. Applications include drilling, scribing, and marking products ranging from medical devices to smart phone components. The main reason is that USP machining delivers higher precision than possible with longer pulsed lasers. Also, it creates almost no peripheral heating and thus cleaner features.

While these advantages have been widely documented, no one has really determined the actual details of how they arise. The Nakagawa group have now used STAMP to bring unique data to this debate. They have imaged the ablative action of a single 35 fs laser pulse on a glass target.

For this application they configured their two-color STAMP setup for an effective frame rate of >1 Tfps. Figure 4 includes several image frames from this work. From the original two-color frames, the electron density map has been obtained. This data enabled the team to map the size, shape, speed, and electron density distribution of the plasma plume ejected by the ablative laser pulse.

Ablation with USP Laser Pulses

Figure 4: A sequence of STAMP images visualizing the ejected plasma plume when a single USP laser pulse ablates glass [3].

 

Shock wave propagation in water

On a much slower timescale, the group used the optical circuit and branching approach to image a shock wave created by a laser pulse focused into water. Nakagawa explains that the interaction of both ultrasound and laser power with live tissue are important to understand for medical therapeutics, imaging, and life sciences research. (And water is the main constituent in live tissue.)

As shown in Figure 5, they have mapped the propagation of the shock wavefront. The gray scale contrast of the images indicates the shockwave intensity. The Nakagawa group is now tackling elucidation of shock interactions with biological cells by observing these dynamic events captured by STAMP.

Shock Wave Propagation in Water

Figure 5: STAMP images of the propagation of a shock wavefront in water excited by a single laser pulse [4].

 

Why Coherent Astrella?

Professor Nakagawa cites several advantages of the Astrella that make it a perfect match for his STAMP studies. He notes, “In terms of performance, Astrella provides a high-quality output beam which is important as the beam quality directly impacts the image quality. The large spectral bandwidth of Astrella simplifies the task of generating multiple sub-pulses and it also means we can compress the pulses down to ~35 fs when needed. The high (7 mJ) pulse energy is another critical advantage because we temporally and spatially modulate the output as STAMP pulses (with optical loss), and also use part of the pulse energy to produce SHG pulses for two color STAMP. Plus of course, we use part of the pulse to excite the exotic phenomena we are looking to image.”

Professor Nakagawa also mentions several practical advantages, including that Astrella is a one-box laser that’s very hands-free. This operational simplicity is critical because the laser is just one component inside a much more complex instrument. He notes, “Turnkey operation means there’s no need for anyone using STAMP to be a laser expert in order to fully exploit this technique. It’s just a light source they can control with a simple user interface to get exactly the output they need. Just as important, we have found Astrella to be incredibly stable and reliable with no need for service or unscheduled repairs and upgrades.”

He summarizes, “Yes, we really like this laser.”

"Astrella provides a high-quality output beam which is important as the beam quality directly impacts the image quality. The large spectral bandwidth of Astrella simplifies the task of generating multiple sub-pulses and it also means we can compress the pulses down to ~35 fs when needed.

– Keiichi Nakagawa, Assistant Professor
University of Tokyo

Summary

The Nakagawa lab developed this unique method of obtaining extremely high-speed videos of single events to support their research. But now, thanks to their continued innovation and the operational simplicity of Astrella, it’s also become a flexible and easy to use technique. This makes it broadly applicable for others performing scientific imaging of all kinds of fast dynamic events spanning femtoseconds to nanoseconds.

References

[1] K. Nakagawa et al., “Sequentially timed all-optical mapping photography (STAMP).” Nature Photonics 8, 695–700 (2014).
[2] T. Saiki et al., “Spectrum circuit for producing spectrally separated nanosecond pulse train in free space.” CLEO 2020, Online, May 2020.
[3] K. Shimada et al., “Electron density imaging of ultrafast plasma dynamics with two-color STAMP.” ALPS2021, Online, April 2021.
[4] T. Saiki et al., “Nanosecond single-shot imaging system with a picosecond exposure time for monitoring the shock wave effects on cells.” Symposium on Shock Waves in Japan, Online, March 2021.

Schedule a no-cost consultation to discuss your needs.